A Cricketing Tale

He looked determined, ready to prove himself. He had beat me the previous delivery with a ball that came in sharply. He was short in stature, and was using that to his advantage by skidding the ball.

He started his run-up, expertly hiding the ball in his hand, glided to the crease and tried to reach escape velocity as he jumped to deliver the ball. He landed hard, and the ball left his hand with the seam scrambled.

It headed towards the leg stump, and I attempted a flick. The ball beat me for pace and I heard the timber shattering. The leg stump lay uprooted.

The bowler howled in delight and started his customary dance on claiming any wicket. I rearranged the stumps and as he finished his dance, I picked the ball and threw it back to him, pointing to him the start of the run-up. He dejectedly walked back, and I marked my guard once again.

Being an elder brother sure had its advantages.

17 Responses to “A Cricketing Tale”


  1. 1 Karan February 7, 2011 at 11:41 am

    Haha πŸ˜€

  2. 3 Rakesh February 7, 2011 at 11:48 am

    Awesome ! These things used to happen so regularly, alas I was always at the receiving end 😦

  3. 5 Aniket February 7, 2011 at 11:51 am

    Haha, yeah this is a pretty common occurance πŸ™‚

  4. 7 mythalez February 7, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    lol …. painful childhood memories? πŸ˜›

  5. 9 Himank February 7, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    Ha ha πŸ™‚ Awesome.. Like it πŸ˜€

  6. 11 mythalez February 7, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    and for a moment, i had thought you were narrating about WC Grace πŸ™‚

    • 12 Kunal February 9, 2011 at 12:18 pm

      The bowler did bowl gracefully, but then WC Grace was a batsman!

      • 13 mythalez February 9, 2011 at 5:23 pm

        lol, no no, wasn’t there a reported incident in a local match, where some bowler bowled Sir Grace, but Grace coolly replaced the bails and got ready to face again. When confronted by the bowler, Grace told him something on the lines – all the crowd here is not to see you bowl but to see me bat
        πŸ˜€

        • 14 Kunal February 9, 2011 at 5:27 pm

          I think you are right.. Now even I remember that incident πŸ™‚

          Although, my inspiration was the elder brother playing cricket with a bunch of young kids in my apartment building.

  7. 15 Sangfroid March 4, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    Nicely done! The big brother or the bully have their own set of rules in every aisle in India.

    I remember this one quite distinctly – If you’re out on the 1st ball you face, you could always say it was a ‘Try Ball’ πŸ˜€


  1. 1 Tweets that mention A Cricketing Tale Β« Something about Nothing -- Topsy.com Trackback on February 7, 2011 at 12:10 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

February 2011
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 438,547 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors