A lucky break…

I had always wondered how people of Mumbai could develop camaraderie with the people who just take the same local at the same time as they do. In the sea of people how could you recognize that “Yes, I met this guy yesterday”? Answers took some time to come but yes, they came.

I don’t know when I noticed her first. Maybe it was November, maybe it was December – but it was one of the two as I remember having the plaster on my leg at that time. Those days the ten-minute drive to office had been replaced by the twenty-minute auto-ride. At the traffic junction one day, like always I was drinking in the variety of people around me. Then I noticed her – in a white dress on her scooty waiting for the signal – staring in my direction, no not in my direction, but staring at me and foot long plaster-of-paris cast. She noticed that I noticed, and her sympathetic glance averted mine, but there were traces of a smile about to appear on her lips. Before the smile could materialize, the signal betrayed and she had disappeared in a cloud of exhaust smoke. I had a feeling that this was not the first time I had seen and the subsequent journey to office was spent in mulling over prior, if any, opportune meetings.

Since then almost daily I would spot her, although I never consciously tried to find her, but my subconscious would always pick up her number plate, or her tell-tale pony, or the eyes on their accord would scan the crowd for her. January came and off came the plaster. I was back on my bike, but I did not see her at the junction. The second day it hit me that I was ten minutes late, she was there daily at the same time just I was late being back on bike. Next day onwards I left for office ten minutes earlier, and there she was – in the same white dress that I had noticed her first in – she saw that the plaster was off and gave an acknowledging smile. It became a daily ritual, we saw each other at the junction, exchanged smiles, and both went on our own ways. That small odd ritual did have its own quaint charm.

Next month I was off for two weeks, the first day of my vacation I thought about her, but then the holiday mood gripped me and there was no thought of her for the subsequent 14 days. I was getting ready to rejoin the same old boring work life when her thoughts crept in my head. Would she be there? Without even realizing it, I had missed her. She had become a part of my daily life, even though she was nobody to me. Full of her thoughts I reached the junction and saw her waiting for the signal looking forlorn. I took my bike beside her, she turned and I was greeted with the most dazzling smile I have ever got, and the words “Where were you? I was worried”. We skipped office that day, called in sick, and talked through the day. I went back home feeling more refreshed then I had ever done before. We were exact opposites when it came to trivial things – tastes in food, movies, coffee etc; but when it came to the things that really matter – life, love, and dreams – we were the same. With a shock I realized that we had talked for straight ten hours and I still did not know her name.

The answer came, now I know how people develop camaraderie by just traveling in the same train. Next week we celebrate our second marriage anniversary, and yes, now I know her name.

Note: This is pure fiction 🙂

27 Responses to “A lucky break…”


  1. 1 Himank Sharma August 2, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    Good one.. but would have been better if it had been real story.. not fiction…. Would have given sone hope to us hopeless IIITian that…. (u know what)

  2. 2 mythalez August 2, 2007 at 11:52 pm

    😀 … nice .. was this the incomplete one?

    ps- reminded me of my own post .. http://mythalez.blogspot.com/2006/09/encounter.html

  3. 3 Karan August 3, 2007 at 12:24 am

    Refreshing.. liked the story 🙂

  4. 4 sanyam August 3, 2007 at 12:47 am

    dude ! you are good.
    very good .. just add some mroe details and spice and you have a bollywood namak masala movie.

    btw, Was she pretty :p

  5. 5 Piyush August 3, 2007 at 1:09 am

    nice story…i was thrilled reading this 🙂

  6. 6 Ankit August 3, 2007 at 1:09 am

    seriously .. just awesome !!
    thank god its a fiction … otherwise … i would have died of jealously.
    your note – saved an innocent life .. 😀

  7. 7 Sreejith August 3, 2007 at 2:13 am

    Wonderful read. Reminds me of a series call “Star Bestsellers” on Star Plus a really long time ago. Anyway, know any places where i can get my leg broken painlessly?

  8. 8 Maruti Borker August 3, 2007 at 4:23 am

    Nice one man !!! Just awesome …

  9. 9 Kunal August 3, 2007 at 10:09 am

    himank, there is always hope 🙂 don’t lose heart… (am I turning into a philosopher? 😉 )

    rama, no the incomplete ones are still in the drafts folder.. this was inspired by me recognizing two people while coming to work day before yesterday 🙂 and yeah I had totally forgotten about your post.. that was a gem!

    karan, thanks 🙂

    sanyam, some songs in the dream sequences and some hooligans pestering the girl at the junction and the hero beating the crap out of them.. eh? how is that… and yes, she was pretty – not rachel green but more of winnie cooper 😀

    piyush, thanks 🙂

    ankit, hehe… himank wanted this to be real and you are grateful that it is fiction 😀

    sreejith, star-bestsellers used to be amazing…. and dude if you break your leg, how would you go to the simpsons movie? 😉

    maruti, thanks 🙂

  10. 10 skp August 3, 2007 at 7:51 pm

    >> This is pure fiction

    Not buying that !! Atleast for what I know
    in real life too you got taste differences
    with those of “The girl” !!

    Huh !!

  11. 11 full2faltu August 3, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    That was a very nice story.

    -Punds

  12. 12 Sankalp August 3, 2007 at 11:41 pm

    Hey, I think this is the first post on IIIT blogroll to be linked on Desipundit.
    Congrats!

  13. 13 Meghna August 4, 2007 at 1:36 am

    Nice story…. 🙂

  14. 14 obelix August 4, 2007 at 3:12 pm

    here’s hoping it materializes 😀

    Was reminded of what mythalez wrote …

  15. 15 Rohit Menon August 5, 2007 at 9:01 am

    Hi. That’s a really nice tale. Awesome ending i must admit. What was her name? You must’ve had something in mind.

    Also, wrt your widgets. Is there any way in which you can paste random html codes as widgets in a wordpress blog. I mean blogger has it pretty easy but i cudnt do it on wordpress.

  16. 16 Kunal August 6, 2007 at 12:16 pm

    skp, dude this “is” pure fiction… yes, I have taste differences from “The girl”, but then every fiction is inspired by reality 🙂

    Punds, thanks 🙂

    Sankalp, it is more like the nth post from IIIT blogroll to be on DP… from the top of my head I can say Rama, Kopos, Rakesh, Sanyam have been linked on DP.. and for me this is the 4th or 5th post there 🙂

    meghna, thanks 🙂

    obelix, am hoping it realizes for someone else… I am happy as I am 😀

    rohit, thanks for the compliments… I did have someone in mind when I was writing this… 🙂
    as for the widgets, choose a text widget and paste your HTML code in that… but no javascript… WP text widgets accepts only basic html …

  17. 17 nipun August 7, 2007 at 12:39 am

    nice read 🙂
    reminded me of some Jeffery Archer story….
    chance encounters always are the best and the worst 🙂

  18. 18 chandni August 7, 2007 at 12:47 pm

    oh1 its fiction 😀

    I read the *fine print* pretty late and thought it was ur story LOL

  19. 19 KoPoS August 7, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    Was browsing DP out of boredom and lo and behold there is kunal again with his yet another post…

    Loved the story unconditionally, moreso the ending.

  20. 20 Kunal August 8, 2007 at 5:58 pm

    nipun, thanks 🙂 and Jeffery Archer is surely one of the best short story writers.. I love hos books …

    chandni, hehe, not my story 🙂

    kopos, thanks a lot 😀

  21. 21 sandeep August 8, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    hehe..good one!! ..

  22. 22 sumit August 17, 2007 at 7:46 pm

    Go to some producer he will create a shahrukh movie on this story!! lol.

  23. 23 Kunal August 20, 2007 at 9:52 am

    sandeep, thanks 🙂

    sumit, do you know any producers? 😛

  24. 24 sonia September 10, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Awesome Story….I really luved it..I am a first time reader of ur stories and trust me i’m going to be a very loyal fan


  1. 1 DesiPundit » Archives » Lucky Trackback on August 3, 2007 at 7:22 pm
  2. 2 Almost …. « The Road To Excess Trackback on August 8, 2007 at 10:31 pm
  3. 3 A Lucky Break – revisited | Something about Nothing Trackback on June 30, 2013 at 12:48 am
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 409,147 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


