Book Review: Tuck Everlasting – Natalie Babbitt

I had read about this book few months back while surfing the net and had thought to myself – this sounds interesting, before forgetting about it till the time I went to Landmark. They were having their annual sale and I saw this book at 50% of its actual cost. I promptly bought it, along with 5-6 more books, after keeping back the other dozen that I had picked up. Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt is a brilliantly written book.

This book is considered a modern classic, and deservingly so. Through the eyes of a young girl this book explores the concept of immortality. Winnie, the young girl, runs away from her home and meets the Tuck family. This family is unique – all of them are immortal. They had drunk the water from a spring which made them immortal and how each family member perceives their immortality makes for a very compelling read.

At around 130 odd pages (with a big font size), Tuck Everlasting is a very quick read. Although a children’s book, it forces the reader to think. Is immortality really a boon, or is it a curse? After reading, I would say that immortality is a curse.

6 Responses to “Book Review: Tuck Everlasting – Natalie Babbitt”


  1. 1 mythalez February 9, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    death is what gives meaning to life 😉

  2. 3 delhizen February 10, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    Another one in my list of ‘Must picks’… nicely written review.

    Now you know why content theft happens 😉

  3. 5 Mridula March 1, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    For sure the book sounds interesting. let me she when I end up at Landmark.


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

February 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 412,396 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


