Frustration and Anger

It has been 6 days and still the anger, the frustration that I feel has not abated. I still feel helpless, I am still angry on our politicians & the famed “intelligence”. What the fuck were you doing when there had been ample signs of something big about to happen? And as is always the case, security was “beefed up” across India after the incident had taken place. These measures would be in place for about a week, since this was a big incident let us make it 2 weeks, and than the security would be back to normal meaning non-existent and then we wait again for the next incident. In Taj, Ratan Tata himself admits, all security was only at the front gate (that too nominal), and the back door was held wide open for the terrorists to make a firing entrance! Do people seriously believe that putting up a solitary guard or two with generally a stick would stop terrorists who are toting AK-47s? Are they stupid enough not to know about the back doors? But no, I do not have any complains of Taj, yes they could have had better security but then it is the responsibility of the government that these people should not even reach Indian waters, leave alone Mumbai, or Delhi, or Hyderabad, or Bangalore, or any other town/city. Last year there was a report that the terrorists could enter from the sea route, and I had read some hundreds of crores were being spent to increase the security. I would love to know what percent of that amount actually was used for security.

Since the Mumbai incident I have been reading that people are getting serious about voting and choosing proper leaders. I totally support this decision, but then my cynical mind set in as I remembered some interesting facts. Did you know that two of the most powerful figures in Indian politics just before the blasts – namely the PM Manmohan Singh, and the home minister Shivraj Patil – both did not win the elections in 2004. Manmohan Singh till date has never won any Lok Sabha election and Shivraj Patil lost the election from Latur. How are they still ministers, you ask? Indian politics has left a back door entry here too. They are Rajya Sabha members, and hence not elected by people directly. So the command of the country is in the hands of two people who were not elected by the people. Remind me somebody, isn’t India a democracy meaning that the leaders are elected by the populace? Who elected the PM and the home minister? We certainly did not. So what the fuck does an election stand for? Nothing, it seems. We say that we do not want these people, and yet they are the decision makers!

The terrorists entered the Taj through the back door, and our “esteemed leaders” entered the government through the back door of Rajya Sabha!

I have never felt this angry and this depressed over anything. You know the hollow feeling inside you that nothing is right in this world, I have had that since the start of this attack. I am shamed to say this, but we had been attuned to the bomb blasts. We were shocked by what we saw, in a day or two we would be back to our normal lives. Not this time, the attack is still on in my mind, I have not been able to concentrate on anything. I read a joke, I laugh, and I feel hollow. I read about Cricket, it has no importance, I feel hollow. I plug in the music, within seconds I stop the music, and I feel hollow. I see people around me go in with their normal lives, laugh normally, and I feel hollow. I am hundreds of mile away from the attack zone, and I feel hollow. I just wish I could line up the terrorists, and give them the slowest most painful death ever possible. Call me sadistic, but maybe, maybe after that I’ll feel a tad better.

16 Responses to “Frustration and Anger”


  1. 1 utkarsh December 2, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    How I wish your last line could come true.
    Its not just the fact that there was a terrorist attack .. the problem is the audacity of these people .. have we become so vulnerable that any gun wielding, nipple chewing , son of a bitch can come and hold an entire nation hostage for 3 days .. Its easy to blame to weak leadership for all of this, but the fact of the matter is that Politicians in India are really obsessed only with minting money .. Even if we are to remove these people today .. who are the worth replacements ??
    Parties change, Ministers change, Agendas change, and yet .. the same bastard terrorists come screw us time and again.
    Resignations and removals have been flowing in from day 1, and people have stooped to the low levels of making this an election issue and politicizing the whole thing, but what good is all of this now. The very psyche of the nation is affected.
    Attack Pakistan .. Get back POK .. but somehow all of this seems futile now .. India needs a dictator, not a democracy .. Kill off these bastards in full public eye .. and leave their bodies for people to spit on !!

  2. 2 utkarsh December 2, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    and while we are at it ..
    Someone please Bomb Pakistan also ->

    http://www.hotklix.com/?ref=content/152704

    typical of Pakistan but still Sickening and Shameful after all that has happened.

  3. 3 Perx December 2, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    Its not just about killing terrorists man.. i think its about killing the idea which makes people terrorists.. to make them see the error of their ideas and ways… which we have not been able to do..
    Of course we need to secure our home, our country but our watchman is lazy and corrupt with no alternate available, so what is the solution?

  4. 4 Amused Observer December 2, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    IMHO, Rajyasabha Members like Manmohan Singh and Patil are way better than self-serving, scam ridden, filthy politicians like Mayawati, Laloo, Paswan, Shibu Soren, Advani etc. who won by “Popular vote”.
    Yes. There is a need to revamp the way the security system works in India. But I think, blaming those who are at the helm of affairs is a rather routine way to express our anger at the happenings.

  5. 5 obelix December 2, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    well put about the feeling of utter crap-i-ness. life’s just seemed to be so devoid of anything.

    the multitude of emotions experienced over this whole thing:

    1. disbelief
    2. shock
    3. anger
    4. sheer white hot fury
    5. impotence 😦

  6. 6 Sangfroid December 2, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    All this is sickening to say the least. You are right about the backdoor entry for netas regardless of public vote.

    Having said that, we still need to vote! Do you have a voter ID? Have you voted? If not, have you registered on JaagoRe ?

  7. 7 Karan December 3, 2008 at 6:36 am

    Manmohan Singh and Patil are way better than self-serving, scam ridden, filthy politicians like Mayawati, Laloo, Paswan, Shibu Soren, Advani etc. who won by “Popular vote”

    Is that a joke? Patil? The guy who cares just about changing his attire for every press conference on the day terrorists bomb Delhi?

  8. 8 Rakesh December 3, 2008 at 8:43 am

    kya likhoon… kya comment karoon… feeling the same anger and frustration… despite sitting safely at a place, much much farther from the Mumbai …

  9. 9 Alosh December 3, 2008 at 9:02 am

    There were a lot of things that went wrong, and most of them we couldnt do much about. As an ordinary citizen, what are the things we can do? Voting would be one.

  10. 10 Ramesh Srivats December 3, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    Good point – the one about the backdoor entries.

    Want a chuckle at Shivraj’s expense…

    Shivraj Patil debates with Sardar Vallabhai Patel on who was the better home minister. Check http://www.rameshsrivats.net/2008/12/shivraj-patil-versus-sardar-patel.html

    Want to check out a possible solution I suggest? Read the next post.

  11. 11 Kunal December 4, 2008 at 11:03 am

    Utkarsh, India needs a dictator, not a democracy.. After the recent events I think I may have to agree with that statement 😦 and seriously that Pakistani video is the most pathetic thing I’ve seen ever…

    Perx, by what way would you kill the idea which makes people terrorists? I think no matter what we do, some psycho would crop up somewhere… till someone figures out a way to kill the idea, till then let us keep capturing terrorists..

    Amused Observer, your observations are not at all amusing. Shibu Soren! do you even know who that guy is? do you have any idea how many Criminal cases are against him? Even though I pointed out that Manmohan Singh is not elected by people’s vote, but among all politicians currently I think he has the best brains, although I have to admit he is what you would call a perfect peace-time PM, but not a good PM during a time when India is under constant attack.

  12. 12 Kunal December 4, 2008 at 11:04 am

    obelix, cannot agree more with the emotions being experienced 😦

    Sangfroid, I agree we need to vote, that is the best we can do, and yes I do have a Voter ID.

    Karan, thanks for pointing out about his attire.. check out the post written by Ramesh Srivats [linked in the comment written by him in this post]

    Rakesh, I know dude.. I was feeling so frustrated that there had to be a outlet, and I wrote this post to vent that anger.

    Alosh, as ordinary citizens, yes the first thing that comes to mind is to vote.. I think other than that we need to be more vigilant about any strange activities around us.

    Ramesh, thanks! and your post is awesome.

  13. 13 Karan December 4, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    @Kunal.. Yeah, that is one helluva article. Also urge you to read the dawn and other leading Pakistan dailies. They have been surprisingly restrained.. All the eds are calling for peace with India and stuff.

  14. 14 Observer December 4, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    @ Kunal
    I forgot to edit my ‘pseudonym’ and in fact I did not intend my observations to be amusing. You seem to have misread my previous comment. Nowhere did I support Shibu Soren as you seem to have made out from my comment.

  15. 15 yupri December 5, 2008 at 10:11 am

    what happened is really horrible … words are not enough to describe that horrific scene in mumbai

    http://priscus.wordpress.com/2008/11/30/silence-blog-for-mumbai-victims/


  1. 1 Life » Blog Archive » The ultimate feel of freedom Trackback on December 10, 2008 at 11:11 am
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

December 2008
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 438,586 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors