Tea Tales

Without a doubt, the most important plant in the history of civilization is the Tea Plant. These days a minimum of three cups of tea a day is needed to at least function on an acceptable level. And shockingly my average tea consumption in pre-IIIT days would be around 1-2 cups per week! How did I survive for that long without regular dosage of tea, you ask? I have exactly the same question, and it seems that this would go down as one of the mysteries of my life!

Let there be Light!In college the good tea-sources were rare, and shockingly the best tea was served by the mess guy during breakfast… Although the major tea-source for all of us was the coffee shop. Every 2-3 months I would settle my account with that guy, and it would always be in multiple thousands! The initial salaries once we joined the corporate world were used to pay all his debts πŸ™‚ By the way the only thing the image on left has to have with Tea is that this a shot of a coaster that was covering a cup of good hot tea…

Recently I had two great(!?) experience at making tea, so as I sip the vending machine pathetic tea I’ll pen down the tea-tales.

Diwali time, I am at home in Raipur. Mom and the wife are busy with Diwali preparations, and they shockingly entrust me with the great responsibility of making the evening cuppa tea. Generally I make decent enough tea, be it Masala Chai or with Cardamom, or Ginger, or simple plain tea. Here too I was confident that I’d make okayish tea, except that the spoon size had changed… “No problem”, I thought and put everything as per approximation thinking that I at least have the sense of the quantity in which the tea would taste good. How wrong I was as I proceed to demolish mom’s and the wife’s trust spectacularly. That day I accomplished the impossible of making “bitter” tea 😦

I thought this was the low point; there was no way I could get any worse. I gathered the scattered bits of my confidence and proceeded into the kitchen again to make tea – this time back in Hyderabad. The spoon sizes were back to normal, and I started to make tea. As I opened the box containing the tea leaves, I found that it was empty… “No problem”, yet again I thought as I remembered that the wife had brought some tea bags back from Raipur. Earlier too I have cut tea bags and poured the contents in the milk and water to make drinkable tea, why should it be different this time? I cut a tea bag and poured the contents in the boiling water. The colour looks different, I thought once but did not pay any attention, put the burner at low flame, and proceeded to catch up on the India-Australia match. 5 minutes later I was back in kitchen to see that I have accomplished another impossible – I have made tea that is light green in colour. The tea bag box caught my eye – Lemon Tea Bags, under preparation it said – no milk required, only water is needed.

Now I am afraid to make tea ever again. Who knows what impossible would I achieve the next time around? 😦

13 Responses to “Tea Tales”


  1. 2 Himank November 12, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    πŸ™‚ Quite some experiences!!

  2. 4 raj November 12, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    lol ! waiting 4 some coffee chronicles πŸ˜›

  3. 5 Karan November 12, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    Haha.. Very interesting read. Surprisingly enough, I drink neither tea nor coffee πŸ˜€

  4. 6 Chittaranjan November 13, 2008 at 2:54 am

    In’tea’resting! I prefer the vending machine tea anytime….with the singalong in my mind – “dip dip dip, dip a li’l longer if you want it stronger…dip dip dip!” πŸ˜›

    Second favorite is the teas on trains….be it earthen cups or paper ones! Homemade tea ranks last….

  5. 7 sanyam November 13, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    he he

    i still make good tea and u r invited any evening πŸ™‚

  6. 8 alosh November 14, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    Tea!!! The elixir of life! The panacea for us lesser mortals.

    It maybe next only to that weed found on king solomon’s grave on inspirational quotient. My sister almost killed me with a super strong concoction which looked like a hot chocolate drink, apparently trying to prove how much she cared for me by making her first ever chai for me. Then I went into an addiction phase with my mother making sure black tea was the first thing I saw when I opened my eyes (she does still). And then I got branded a communist for making people take up the black tea. Well, right now I am trying to perfect my watery chai.

    All I can say is (apart from a lifetime of tea experiences) DONT GIVE UP!!!

  7. 9 Deepti November 14, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    15*30*365*3.5= Amount I spent on coffee in IIIT!

  8. 10 Kunal November 17, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    obelix, πŸ™‚

    Himank, yes they were…

    manuscrypts, I’m still sticking with Tea πŸ˜€

    raj, I hope I don’t have any such (mis)adventures πŸ™‚

    Karan, now that sure is surprising!

  9. 11 Kunal November 17, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Chittaranjan, my preference order would be the exact opposite πŸ™‚

    Sanyam, thanks a lot for the invite dude πŸ™‚

    Alosh, recently I tried to make another cup, and I can proudly say that I made good tea πŸ˜€

    Deepti, welcome to the club! Only after joining the corporate did I cut down on my tea/coffee intake…

  10. 12 mythalez November 20, 2008 at 10:42 am

    i still drink no tea or coffee .. infact i did try coffee on quite a few occasions but it never woke me up but consistently gave me headaches πŸ˜›


  1. 1 Connect the following: Cricket, Moon, Tea « Something about Nothing Trackback on December 10, 2010 at 4:11 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 412,393 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


