Book Review: Exotic Engineer Entrepreneur – Jayanth Gurijala

Most of the techies in the IT field nurse some common dreams – one is starting something on their own, and another is finding the perfect match. In this book Exotic Engineer Entrepreneur, the author Jayanth Gurijala dreams the same, and the book is about his journey to achieve those goals and buying a Honda Civic. The way the author describes his feelings for the car, I feel Honda Corp would start selling this book as a fan’s opinion on the car πŸ™‚Β  Almost every IT professional would shades of himself in the protagonist.

The book’s protagonist is Vikram, a bored IT professional working in Bangalore itching to quit his job, and not getting the kick to do so. He has many ideas that he wants to try out, but the oft-criticized, and yet the preferred companion of every techie – laziness disallows him to do so. In parallel, the hunt for Ms. Perfect is on, and the protagonist has a few misadventures in that avenue too.

It is a feel good book, you know from the start what is going to happen, and yet it is a fun read. The character of Vikram has been fleshed out properly, while the rest of characters haven’t got that treatment. The plot development could have been better – this book seems to be aimed solely at people who have studied engineering, a better plot development could have opened up other target audiences too for the author. As for the flow of the story, it was very good – there were no abrupt jumps in the story. The book tells a simple story, in an enjoyable way.

The language of the book could have been lot better – and I am not talking in terms of vocabulary. There were basic English mistakes – grammatical, and punctuation errors, but nothing a good editor or a proper proof-reading could not have weeded out. Thankfully the mistakes are not glaringly obvious so that they deter you from reading the book.

The book is a short interesting read – a love story sometimes donning the cloak on entrepreneurship.

Addendum: This is a author requested review. I was contacted by Jayanth Gurijala to review his book.

7 Responses to “Book Review: Exotic Engineer Entrepreneur – Jayanth Gurijala”


  1. 1 mythalez December 13, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    as i keep saying, you should start getting paid for the reviews, monetarily, not just in kind (i.e. the book) πŸ˜›

    • 2 Kunal December 13, 2010 at 4:09 pm

      Having been on the other side, I have an idea on how much the author is paid πŸ™‚ Asking for payment, when I already have the book seems foolish.

      And yeah another author requested review is in the works, hope I don’t forget the normal blogging amidst all the reviews πŸ™‚

  2. 3 Jayanth Gurijala December 14, 2010 at 8:39 am

    Lol on “Honda selling the book as fan’s opinion of the book”… I in fact went to a Honda Showroom to request for sponsorship and left a copy with them… like all great initially ignored scientific discoveries, guess it has long been shredded :(…
    Some who have read the book, especially girls, told me that The Civic has now become a head-turner πŸ™‚
    As for the language, ya… after entering the publishing world i realized everyone who claims to be an editor need one be one :(, will be more careful next time.

    Thanks a ton for the review πŸ™‚

  3. 5 vaishnavi October 7, 2011 at 11:59 am

    I think your book encourages many people! I can say this because the book not only depicts your idea but also your own self. you are really a common person who has patience,good values,creativity,respect ,concern and the most important one COURAGE. I AM CORRECT IF ONLY , WHAT you have written is true. i am in tenth std and i want to be an engineer {may be software} and i want to be like you. ALL the best for your future and hope you grow up to be a more really mature writer, like chetan baghat{my favorite}.

  4. 6 vaishnavi October 7, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    I think your book encourages many people! I am able to say this because the book not only depicts your idea but also your own self. You are really a common person, who has patience,good values,creativity,respect ,concern and the most important one COURAGE. I AM CORRECT IF ONLY , WHAT you have written in your is true. I am in tenth std and want to be an engineer {may be software} and WISH to be like you. ALL the best for your future and hope you grow up to be a more mature writer, like chetan baghat{my favorite}. I personally feel you are rancho {3 idiots} and i wish to be so.

  5. 7 vaishnavi October 7, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    I think you are like ranco { 3 idiots } and I wish to be so .


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

December 2010
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 411,465 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


