Books, books, books!

Update: Sidin’s second book “God Save The Dork” is now available on Flipkart. This is the sequel to the first book Dork and follows the adventures of Robin ‘Einstein’ Varghese in London. If it is as enjoyable as Dork, it would be a must-buy.

——-

In the recent few weeks I’ve read quite a number of books, so instead of writing long thoughts on each, this time I am penning down a paragraph or two for the books I’ve read.

Known Turf – Annie Zaidi
What an awesome book! I read a non-fiction after a long time, and the book made me rue the fact that I had been concentrating on fiction. Annie Zaidi writes about her experiences while she was reporting about forgotten villages and people. This book is an eye-opener. We live in amazing comfort, while we waste food in the 2-3 meals we take everyday, infants are dying of hunger.
This book is a must read.
Rating: 4/5

Bougainvillea House – Kalpana Swaminathan
I had read very good reviews about this book – some reviews termed this as one of the best thrillers from an Indian author. While the book was not bad, it wasn’t good either. Maybe it was just me, but I felt the book was really dark, really sombre – not my cup of tea.
Rating: 2/5

And Thereby Hangs A Tale – Jeffrey Archer
I have no doubt, Sir Jeffrey Archer is one of the best writers of the current generation. His novels have always been captivating, but I feel they pale in comparison in front of his short stories. This collection of short stories leave you salivating for more. As soon as I finished this book, I picked up his other collections that I have, and reread some more of his short stories. Without a doubt, my favourite author.
Rating: 3.5/5

The Gamechangers – The Fake IPL Player
It was touted as a tell-all book, but it told nothing new. A good time-pass read for anyone interested in cricket and IPL. One should not go out of his/her way to get this book and read it.
Rating: 2.5/5

My Friend Sancho – Amit Varma
[Read this a year back, writing about it now :) ]
The most acclaimed blogger of India pens down his first novel, and it surely was a very good read. I have a feeling that a movie could be easily made out of this book, with Abhay Deol playing the role of the protagonist – the journalist: Abir Ganguly, Paresh Rawal could easily portray the role of the inspector Thombre, and somebody like Amrita Rao could play the heroine Muneeza. Anyway getting back to the book, one small grouse – there was excessive use of foul language, although it did not bother me much. And an awesome aspect about the publication was the font, margins used in the book – made the reading experience really enjoyable :)
Rating: 3.5/5

Paths of Glory – Jeffrey Archer
Anyone who is interested in mountaineering or simply interested in adventure stories – this is a must read. George Mallory had died in his attempt to ascent Mount Everest in 1924. Whether he was able to reach the summit, is a question that has been unanswered for decades. The author has weaved this story around George Mallory, claiming that he indeed reached the Everest peak. This book is an invigorating read – I wanted to climb the Everest after reading this book :)
Rating: 3/5

Dork – Sidin Vadukut
[Even this book was read nearly a year back]
This book is a must must read. Absolutely hilarious, it reminded me of Dilbert.
Rating: 3.5/5

6 Responses to “Books, books, books!”


  1. 1 mythalez September 27, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    lol .. maybe Amit Varma and the prospective producers should rope you in as the ‘casting director’ :P.

    And I agree that Jeffery Archer’s short story are simply the best. His ‘twist in the tale’ is the book that upgraded me from enid-blyton and hardy-boys to the grown-up fiction :D.

    • 2 Kunal September 28, 2010 at 1:27 pm

      Let the prospective producers choose their own cast :D

      And yeah Jeffery Archer rocks! Although the writer who ushered me to “the grown-up fiction” would be Arthur Hailey :)

  2. 3 Vibha Sharma October 26, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    Came to your site through some links online. Liked the book reviews and your to the point appraisal of the books.

    do check my blog. You might like it.
    http://literarysojourn.blogspot.com (book reviews, interviews and my art work)


  1. 1 Titanic, Japan, Nalanda & Cricket « Something about Nothing Trackback on December 7, 2010 at 12:16 pm
  2. 2 Mini Reviews « Something about Nothing Trackback on March 2, 2011 at 10:25 am
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

September 2010
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 354,757 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

