Fuel Tales

As I am driving to the office, the fuel in my bike runs dry. And as is always the case in such scenarios I was exactly in the middle of the two closest petrol pumps. One was a km behind me, the other was a km ahead in direction of my office. I started dragging my bike towards the petrol pump, under the hot merciless sun (by the way, has the summer already started again in Hyderabad?)

Scores of bikes/cars passed by me, nobody stopping to offer any help (not that I expected any, neither did I ask anyone for a lift) till I had gone almost half a km. The upward slope had just started and I was cursing Hyderabad for having such hilly roads (when I am driving – not dragging – the bike, I actually love the hilly roads – perceptions change a bit too fast) when I saw a guy take a U-turn about 50 meters ahead. He came back, stopped by me, and offered to drop me off at the petrol pump. I thanked him, but told him that I’ve no bottle to get the petrol in, and I knew that the petrol pump also does not have any shop etc. It would be pure luck if I get a bottle there. Lo-and-behold, he fabricates a bottle out of thin-air. Says he has been in same situation 2-3 times and knows how bad it is to be in such a situation. As he dropped me off at the petrol pump, I thanked him profusely. My faith in humanity & fellow humans was restored. Next time I see anyone stranded without fuel, I am surely going to offer help.

Few hours later, I am back at the petrol pump, this time I drove my bike there to get some more petrol. There is a serpentine queue for the fuel, as only one of the pumps is working. Slowly I make my way ahead, and just as the guy ahead of me gets petrol filled and is about to move, a fat lady comes zooming past all the other waiting bikes, and plunks her Activa bang in front of me for fuel. My first reaction was wtf!, and I started shouting on her for not respecting the queue, and asked her to move back. As I had expected she completely ignores me as I was telling her what she was doing was wrong, and even she knew it, but surprisingly no other person in the line said anything, the two petrol-pump attendants – even they don’t say anything and start filling the petrol.

I’ve been going to that petrol pump every 10-15 days for last 4-5 years, and I have seen these attendants shout at people for breaking the queue, but I’ve seen them shouting at guys only. Since this was a girl who was breaking the line, nobody was saying anything. I never knew there was a separate “Ladies only Queue” at petrol pumps too.

Back to the story, I again say a few heated words to the fat lady, and her only reply, “Tum kyon wait kar rahe ho? Tumko bhi line tod deni chahiye thi.” (Why were you waiting? Even you should have broken the queue). My faith in humanity decreased many notches. I wish that fat lady’s activa runs out of petrol, and if I am around, I am surely not offering her any help.

9 Responses to “Fuel Tales”


  1. 1 Alosh September 17, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    Come on man! After all these years you are making rookie mistakes. After driving a bike all these years, you must not be riding on reserve (college habits die hard :D). And after being married for couple of years, you should know that its best to let women have their way.

  2. 2 obelix September 17, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    lol @ above comment

  3. 3 mythalez September 17, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    if everyone breaks the queue, they will all end up with a queue of everyone who has broken the queue πŸ˜›

    you should have told her this and went on to educate her about the “tragedy of commons” .. and so on and so forth and not let her leave until it was time for her actual position in the queue to be dequeued πŸ˜›

  4. 4 HalleY September 18, 2009 at 9:59 am

    Another such πŸ˜›
    http://www.ptinews.com/news/288324_Auto-driver-returns-laptop–bank-passbook-to-commuter

    You should continue to believe in humanity and fellow human beings πŸ˜› ..

    You should given some nice statement in rebuke to the fat lady .. you should see telugu/tamil movies to get an idea of such statements .. typically called .. “punch dialogues” πŸ˜›

  5. 5 Kunal September 22, 2009 at 11:54 am

    Alosh, yeah I was on reserve, but completely forgot that! and yeah next time onwards will let the women have their way πŸ˜›

    obelix, exactly my reaction πŸ™‚

  6. 6 Kunal September 22, 2009 at 11:55 am

    Rama, next time anything like this happens, I’ll whip out the paper where I have taken the printout of your comment and proceed to do exactly as you have said πŸ˜›

    Halley, I’ll continue to believe in humanity and fellow human beings! And as for the fat lady rebuke, I’ve never been good at the said “punch dialogues”, will need to refer to Rama for such things πŸ˜€

  7. 7 makrand September 25, 2009 at 12:51 am

    LOL @ wish in the last line.

  8. 8 Sangfroid September 25, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    Glad that you got help. That isn’t the case mostly!

    Regd. the lady episode, it is utterly unfair but then like so many other things they get these allowances too πŸ˜‰

  9. 9 Kunal September 30, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    makrand, πŸ™‚

    Sangfroid, yeah getting help that time surely seemed godsend! and yup getting preferential treatment is always unfair!


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 409,072 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


