India’s T20 Team based on IPL performance

If we choose India’s World Cup T20 team based on performance [List of top scorers and top wicket takers] till now in IPL 2009, it throws up some major surprises. I am choosing 5 batsman, 1 all-rounder, 1 wk, 4 bowlers. I think this balance should be fine. So the team that comes up is:

SR Tendulkar
R Dravid
YK Pathan
RG Sharma
SK Raina

IK Pathan

MS Dhoni

RP Singh
PP Ojha
MM Patel
L Balaji

Just missed out bowlers: Kamran Khan, A Kumble
No other batsman has scored even 100 runs to be in contention.

If I compare this team with the team that played our last T20, only 4 names are common – Dhoni, Raina, and Pathan brothers. Rest all are different.

Time to change our international T20 team? πŸ˜‰

11 Responses to “India’s T20 Team based on IPL performance”


  1. 1 Karan April 29, 2009 at 11:59 am

    Where is Parthiv? Hes certainly done a better job than MSD.

  2. 2 Rakesh April 29, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    Lets make an IPL Team .. with the Faboulous Five.. I hope it will do good.. as the three are already in your team πŸ˜€

  3. 3 Kunal April 29, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    Karan, I just saw the number of runs scored. Dhoni was above PP (he has been getting out after getting starts)

    Rakesh, I am sure those guys will do good πŸ™‚

  4. 4 sanyam April 29, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    there should be a new rule …

    every country can play 2 international players in their side πŸ˜›

    it would be fun surely. India will buy all great players and make them a coach or a mentor πŸ˜›

  5. 5 Pallav April 29, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    I agree. The old guns have shown that T20 cricket is not all about closing your eyes and taking a swing ( which incidentally is what I see most players doing). Sachin’s innings against KKR was a revelation. He showed that runs can be scored along the ground too if you have the right technique. And his six off Ishant Sharma reminded me of something Geoffery Boycott said after he hit a huge six during his innings of 193 in Headingley: “He’s given that a hokey-pokey.”

  6. 6 Chittaranjan April 30, 2009 at 12:10 am

    Hmm…Can’t say Raina and Balaji ought to be in there! Some of the young’uns maybe….Jadeja, Asnodkar, Gony etc.

    And where’s the second opener?

  7. 7 Chittaranjan April 30, 2009 at 12:11 am

    My bad…ur list was based on IPL 2 performances till date…didn’t notice that 😳

  8. 8 Kunal April 30, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Sanyam, and I was thinking there should be a rule to increase the number of international players to see better contests πŸ™‚

    Bhai, in SA technique comes into play, and that is why people with class, rather then only form, are coming into play – Sachin, Dravid, Glichrist, Hayden, Rohit Sharma etc. And I’d love to see Laxman play a fluent T20 innings πŸ™‚
    I remember a quote Dravid said earlier in the tournament: “Conditions like this are ideal for player like me and give a fair chance” ..
    And as always SRT is God!!

    Chittaranjan, πŸ˜› Anyway I am planning another similar post towards the end of the tournament. Would be fun to compare how much the team changes…

  9. 9 Ravi Kiran May 1, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Nice team… but why’s Harbhajan missing??…. He’s being very economical…. anywayz I am glad that guy’s not a part..

  10. 10 Kunal May 5, 2009 at 1:24 am

    Ravi Kiran, this team is purely based on performances till 29th April πŸ™‚ Ojha has been way better then Bhajji till that time.


  1. 1 India’s T20 World Cup Team based on IPL performance « Something about Nothing Trackback on May 22, 2009 at 1:09 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 406,804 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


