The Simians of South Block and the Yum Yum Piglets

Yes, it is a strange title. It is neither the first time, nor would it be the last time that a different/whacky title has caught my eyes and I pick out the book with the most obscure title from the heap of books. As is the norm for me I bought this book – “The Simians of South Block and the Yum Yum Piglets“, authored by Ranjit Lal – on a whim.

The premise is: there is a vacancy for the top spot in jungle since the Tiger has retired after he was photographed in an embarrassing position by the tourists and had become the laughing stock on the net. A fight is on among the remaining powerful animals for the top-spot when monkeys come in to add masala to an already hot curry, and these are no ordinary monkeys. These are the monkeys that have terrorized Delhi, politicians of the South Block, and tourists around the India Gate being their favourite targets. These “civilized” monkeys find it difficult to adjust in the jungle, take hostages, and ask other animals to provide them a safe route to South Block, Delhi. The elected-by-default leader and his minions turn their back on this hostage situation and it is left up to other jungle denizens to handle the problem.

Even though it seems that it is a children’s book, but I feel there are serious political undercurrents in the book. Just change few minor details, and it seems to me the story of any problem that crops up in India specifically it seemed to me the story of 26/11. Monkeys (Terrorists) come to Jungle (Mumbai), take hostages, the so-called leaders, Jackal and Hyenas, disappear (MNS); others take charge to kill these pests. In spite of these political undercurrents, this book is a very light read. Yesterday night I completed it in one sitting in around 2 hours, and thoroughly enjoyed the book. Only when I woke up, did I realize that there were things to be read between the lines too.

If you lay your hands on it, read it πŸ™‚

8 Responses to “The Simians of South Block and the Yum Yum Piglets”


  1. 1 obelix April 27, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    i was expecting a real smasher of a post when i read the title.

    anyway, will get book – have decided to religiously follow all book recommendations from you – seeing as the last one “The book thief” turned out to be a delightful read

  2. 2 Pallav April 28, 2009 at 1:03 am

    I have never bought a book on a whim, and I guess that’s why I may have missed out on a few good books. But then again, I did not have to read through several that did not turn out to be any good!

  3. 3 mythalez April 28, 2009 at 7:55 am

    but but .. wat abt the yum yum piglets .. u dint mention them in ur review … what do they do ?? are they the heroes? πŸ˜›

  4. 4 Ghost Runner April 28, 2009 at 10:18 am

    excellent piece of info πŸ™‚

  5. 5 alosh April 28, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Sounds like a must read! Glad that you are a weirdo when it comes to picking up books πŸ˜€
    And of course, there is the Lord of allegory – Animal Farm.

  6. 6 Sangfroid April 28, 2009 at 11:32 am

    Very interesting! Reading(offline) has taken a backseat of late.

    This somehow reminds me of Delhi-6. The whole ‘Kala Bandar’ thing was such a slap on the system – media/politicians et al. The movie didn’t do well and this book is no bestseller too. I liked the movie which means this book is a must read πŸ™‚

  7. 7 Kunal April 28, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    obelix, you put too much faith in me! anyway do read 2-3 pages before you decide to buy the book.

    Bhai, buying books on a whim is mostly fun, yeah I’ve had my share of some bad books but the good books I’ve picked up are far more then the bad ones πŸ™‚

    Rama, forgot to mention the piglets, and their lovely names – Delicious, Crispy, Luscious, Sumptuous et al.. And yeah, they are the heroes of the book, some of the piglets are held hostages, and other piglets strive to set their brothers/sisters free πŸ˜€

  8. 8 Kunal April 28, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Ghost Runner, πŸ™‚

    Alosh, will keep picking up such weird title books πŸ˜›

    Sangfroid, nice reasoning.. let me know if you like it πŸ™‚


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 406,667 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


