4.. 3.. 2.. 1.. Movies!

Four movies, four mini-reviews, and one common grouse for all: Where the hell is tighter editing?

8×10 Tasveer
Nagesh Kukunoor’s direction, Akshay Kumar as the hero, a very interesting premise – pointers to an awesome movie, right? Wrong! Yeah even I was misled by the big names associated with the movie. This was by far one of the worst movies I’ve seen in recent times. I think even Kidanp was better then this *shudders*
Rating: *x0

Aa Dekhen Zara
Had I seen this movie any other time, I would have been really disappointed, but I already had seen 8×10, and had no expectations of this and I think that is the reason I enjoyed the movie. Again an interesting premise, and an interesting cast, but this time the movie was lot better then 8×10. Overall could have been much much better, but yeah at least this one was a popcorn-muncher.
Rating: * * 1/2

Aloo Chaat
A feel-good movie. I remember the e-mail forward on which the movie is based, yeah you read it right: a movie based on an e-mail forward. Most of you would have read that e-mail so no use writing about that. This would be one movie that would become the staple diet for some movie channel (ala Hungama, Golmaal, Koyla(!!) etc), whenever you turn on the idiot-box, this movie would invariably be playing. This movie could have been at least half hour shorter without taking away anything at all from the movie.
Rating: * *

Straight
For the nth time, Vinay Pathak essays the role of the common man – this time someone who is confused about his sexuality. It is a nice movie, and can be seen once. Since there is a severe death of Hindi movies around (I read somewhere on net that this Friday [or was it the last Friday] is the first Friday in 12 years when no Hindi movie was released!), this is the only decent movie around. And one question to the producers/directors: How can you make someone as beautiful as Gul Panag look so bad?
Rating: * * * [Only because there is nothing better around to watch]

Planning to catch Barah Aana and Little Zizou, any reviews on those?

11 Responses to “4.. 3.. 2.. 1.. Movies!”


  1. 1 Perx April 17, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    I’ve heard both of these are good..little zizou and barah aana… but compared to what u’ve witnessed they’ll be nothing short of masterpieces. šŸ˜›

  2. 2 A Crazy Person April 17, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    @gul: yeah .. how can they do that … tata sky ad vs this film …. wooohh my gaawddd …

  3. 3 Chittaranjan April 18, 2009 at 12:16 am

    Naheeeeeeee……

    Don’t see Barah Aana! I’ve seen it FDFS and found it quite boring! Have even deleted the review draft I penned that day šŸ˜

  4. 4 Pallav April 18, 2009 at 12:38 am

    After reading this post I realized I am completely unaware of Hindi Cinema happenings. The only movie out of the four I had heard about was 8 x 10. Let me know if there’s a recent movie worth spending two and a half hours in front of the screen.

  5. 5 sanyam April 19, 2009 at 1:05 am

    It makes me realize i am still behind on the movies .. Aloo Chat and Straight would be interesting. Lets wait for them to screen on TataSky. And btw such reviews makes more sense than Rajeev Masand’s (who is anyways biased and pro SRK).

  6. 6 Kunal April 20, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Perx, yeah after those four bad-to-average movies, even I thought those would be good šŸ™‚

    A Crazy Person, šŸ˜¦ in Tata Sky ads she looks lovely!

    Chittaranjan, thanks for the heads-up!

  7. 7 Kunal April 20, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Bhai, this year the only movie I deem worth spending time/money has to be Dev-D. Without a doubt an amazing movie. But yeah half the people hate it, other half loves it šŸ™‚

    Sanyam, afair Tata Sky was already screening Aa Dekhen Zara, these wouldn’t be that far behind. My suggestion for all the above-mentioned movies would be – wait for it to come on TV/DVD and watch them only if there is no repeat telecast of any other good movie.

  8. 8 Ghost Runner April 20, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    if u r seriously or even light heartedly social oriented … you will have fun with Lil’ zizou šŸ˜‰

  9. 9 Sangfroid April 21, 2009 at 1:07 am

    I have watched only ‘Aloo Chaat’ out of the above and found it decent pastime.

    On another note, Vinay Pathak is getting repetitive. So, I’ll give ‘Straight’ a straight pass too, like the others, in spite of it being highest rated by you šŸ˜›

  10. 10 @nks April 29, 2009 at 11:08 am

    go watch “videsh – heaven on earth”

  11. 11 Kunal April 29, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    Ghost Runner, I am planning to watch that šŸ™‚

    Sangfroid, highest rating is purely relative! among the four, that I felt was the “andhon me kana raja” šŸ™‚

    @nks, why why why? an abuse story becomes a supernatural story! koi sar pair hi nahi hain… anyway have you watched it?


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

The 140 Chars

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 412,318 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


