‘Bell’ogging

I have always faced this conundrum: I can never think of what to write when either I am swamped with work (obviously!) or when I am sitting absolutely vella (here lies the riddle!). Only when the work is neither too much, nor too less, only those are the inspired times when the idea-factory disables the pop-up blocker in my brain, and swamps me with zillions of irritating ideas, and 1-2 good ideas to write about! It is at this time that the draft is conceived, and later on flesh is added to this skeleton to make it presentable. Or as it happens regularly these days, dump the skeleton directly on twitter 🙂

Anyway I’ve written more then I intended to write, this post was meant only to share this graph I had made some time back to show the relationship between work pressure and blogging frequency. Presenting the Bell ‘Blog vs Work’ Curve

Work vs Blogging Curve

Work vs Blogging Curve

[Click on the image for a bigger version 🙂 ]

11 Responses to “‘Bell’ogging”


  1. 1 oBelIX April 9, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    did not notice the title. lol …

  2. 2 mythalez April 9, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    perhaps the next version of this analysis should include the ‘kind of work’ also as a parameter? me thinks that plays a big part 😛

  3. 3 Arun April 9, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    so is this chart produced in obiee 😉

  4. 4 Kunal April 10, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    obelix, did you notice the tag? 😛

    Rama, maybe you add to the graph for people “working” for a PhD 🙂 afaik all work in office is the same – mostly boring 😀

    Arun, nah.. this has been ‘manufactured’ using Open Office.. 🙂

  5. 5 Pallav April 11, 2009 at 12:51 am

    A very astute observation indeed Watson! I guess spending so many of your formative years with Sherlock (Me!) has rubbed off on you.
    I have thought about this myself, and I get most of my ideas when I am not in a position to write them down (driving, in the shower etc.). But it is truly amazing how so many things fit into the Bell Curve.

  6. 6 Chittaranjan April 11, 2009 at 2:36 am

    I think that applies to commenting also….coz I’ve been putting off lotsa replies due to being swamped!

    😛

  7. 7 Sangfroid April 12, 2009 at 9:47 am

    Hmm … Interesting but what bout exceptions to the rule 😉

  8. 8 sandeep April 12, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    heheh…gud one ;))

  9. 9 @nks April 13, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    true to the core … !!

    and it does apply to the commenting part

  10. 10 Kunal April 13, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    Sherlock aka Bhai, it certainly has rubbed off on me 🙂 Ideas have a tendency to hit you when you are least prepared, I had written about it long back – https://kunal.wordpress.com/2006/10/26/the-blogging-conundrum/ ..

    Chittaranjan, for me commenting is put-off only when I am insanely busy 🙂 at all other times commenting has become a second nature now (except when I am commenting on blogspot blogs, hate those 😡 )

  11. 11 Kunal April 13, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    Sangfroid, to take care of the outliers I should have gone for a different kind of graph. by the way, by exceptions you mean people who are exceptions to this rule or the posts which crop when they shouldn’t have.. 😛

    Sandeep, thanks 🙂

    @nks, 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 412,393 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


