Of Summers, Vacations and Mangoes!

A tiny mango I clicked few weeks ago, heralding the advent of summer :)

A tiny mango I clicked few weeks ago, heralding the advent of summer πŸ™‚

The summers are here. Yes, I know I am late in acknowledging that, but till now it was bad summer that was going on, the good summer seems to be starting now. Till last few days it was hot scorching sun, dark glasses, dust up the cooler, always-feel-thirsty kind of summer – bad! These things are still there, but since the last few days, it has metamorphosed into the good summer. The reasons – the mango has made an appearance. And today in midst of the concrete jungle I heard the Koyal cooing (or is it the cook of a Koyal? I am confused) – that totally made my day!

Since morning I have been thinking of the umpteen summer memories that I cherish. Playing outside even when the temperatures hovered over 45, touching 48 some times! There did not use to be enough time to play Cricket, and today I am so used to ACs that even if I spend few hours outside in the “gentle” temperature of high 30s, and low 40s there are good chances that I’ll get a sunstroke. Summer used to be synonymous with traveling, always in Sleeper class; now I take Sleeper tickets only if it is the last resort. Summers meant starting the cooler, and reading a book contently, and now … Ah! That one thing has remained the same, thankfully πŸ™‚

Summers meant vacation, now it means a commute in the hot sun 😦 … Wishing for a culture change, wishing that even the Corporates start giving Summer Vacations! (Why can’t I ever dream realistically? 😦 )

10 Responses to “Of Summers, Vacations and Mangoes!”


  1. 1 manuscrypts March 30, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    i was saying exactly that last weekend (inspired by the long ugadi weekend)… though i preferred to one month breaks (winter and summer) πŸ˜€

  2. 2 Karan March 30, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    You make me nostalgic πŸ™‚

  3. 3 @nks March 30, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    srsly …

    i used to get sound sleep during summer with even fan overhead …

    and yesterday … when my cooler broke down … I couldn’t sleep even when fan was on full and all the windows were open.

    this comfort is handicapping me …

  4. 4 Chittaranjan March 31, 2009 at 12:33 am

    I *always* take a summer vacation…that is diminished nowadays to just 2 weeks 😦

  5. 5 Chittaranjan March 31, 2009 at 12:36 am

    P.S: ‘good’ summer? Even from a Mangoes perspective, unless the really succulent Banginipallis make an appearance, its no good! And the heat’s growing with each day πŸ‘Ώ

  6. 6 Sangfroid March 31, 2009 at 1:11 am

    Summer Vacations at corporates πŸ˜€
    Heights of wishful thinking!!

  7. 7 Pallav March 31, 2009 at 1:54 am

    I had thought on the lines of a 4-day week; but now that you mentioned it, a summer vacation (or any vacation) from work sounds much better. I don’t have mangoes or coolers over here; but then again, it snowed yesterday, so it’s not summer either!

  8. 8 mythalez April 1, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    u knw .. in some places … u get mangoes all throughout the year πŸ˜›

  9. 9 Kunal April 9, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Manuscrypts, even that sounds great – one month off at each end πŸ™‚

    Karan, πŸ™‚

    @nks, the comforts have already handicapped us 😦

    Chittaranjan, 2 weeks – nice! You are planting ideas in my head now. Let me check, now when can I get two weeks off!?

  10. 10 Kunal April 9, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Sangfroid, that is the reason it is called “Wishful thinking” πŸ˜›

    Bhai, in last 4 years I have taken only one long vacation, others have been small 1 week leaves. Next time I’ll plan at least a two week vacation πŸ™‚

    Rama, stop gloating dude πŸ˜› eat your mangoes, and next time you come here remind me to give you bumps πŸ™‚


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 411,531 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


