Book Review: The Storyteller – Mithin Aachi

Few days back I picked a book impulsively at Odyssey – The Storyteller. The writer, Mithin Aachi – a Hyderabadi – is a surgeon, an acclaimed painter, and now a writer, phew!

The book is about a boy who has some neurological disorders since birth and subsequently his mental growth is stunted. Trying to find his own place in the world, he decides to become a story teller following in the footsteps of a famous writer from his village. Soon he realizes that his story making ability is helping his mental growth. He learns to lie, he weaves tales, and after desperately trying to garner audience for his stories, gets an unlikely audience in the occupants of the cancer ward for children in a hospital where he had to be admitted for some time.

It is a very simple story, and at about 120 odd pages a very light, relaxing read. I thoroughly enjoyed the book – read it if you can lay your hands on it.

Picking up books on instinct has for most of the time worked for me, I picked Q&A on a whim, let it collect dust on my bookshelf for a year before reading it, and now a movie has converted a lesser known book to a bestseller! Anyway, these days I am enjoying books written by new Indian authors much more then other bestselling authors. Any author/book recommendations?

9 Responses to “Book Review: The Storyteller – Mithin Aachi”


  1. 1 @nks March 12, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    try “”you are here” … if u don’t hate shobha de types … !!

  2. 2 mythalez March 12, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    every book review post of yours makes a wee bit more jealous and accumulates self pity for myself as I dont seem to manage to read any book😦

  3. 3 Kunal March 17, 2009 at 11:58 am

    @nks, read that book, and did not like it a bit…

    Rama, I am posting a book review after 6 months or so and you are lamenting that you are not reading enough books! Earlier I used to read books at the rate of 4-5 a month.. Now it must be 4-5 a year😦

  4. 4 ju March 17, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    try Amitav Ghosh’s “Sea Of Poppies” – I loved his Hungry Tide earlier and really really enjoyed Sea of Poppies.

    P.S. Is the 25% discount still on in Odyssesy?

  5. 5 Kunal March 18, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    ju, I’ll try out “Sea of Poppies”. thanks for the tip🙂

    and I think the 25% discount at Odyssey is over now..

  6. 6 Mithin March 19, 2009 at 1:54 am

    Hi Kunal.

    Thank you for your review and for liking the book.

    It makes me feel happy that you enjoyed it.

    Mithin Aachi

  7. 7 Kunal March 19, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    Mithin, it is great that the author of the book is commenting on the review🙂 And I really enjoyed the book! Hope you would pen more books.

  8. 8 Winnie the Poohi June 23, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    Try The short story collection ” The nude” by Nergis Dalal or may be if you like psycho thrillers ” The bougainvillae house” by Kalpana Swaminathan🙂

  9. 9 Kunal June 23, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    Winnie, thanks a lot for the recommendations. Will try out these books🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 399,741 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


