Trip to Visakhapatnam

It was high time since I had taken a break from the monotonous routine of work life and wanted nothing more then to run away. An opportune occasion helped in deciding the exact dates of the trip and the booking of tickets was done immediately. The internet and scores of friends were our source of knowledge for places to visit, things to do, not to do @ Visakhapatnam.

Rushikonda Beach

1st day morning proved Murphy right. We had a list of decent hotels, and the last one on the list was actually the best one – APTDC’s resort. Next time onwards, I think I am going to book the State Tourism hotel without even seeing it. Without wasting any time for the trivial stuff like having a bath etc, we hit the beach. Not the one that was across the road – that was the one being used by fisherman, have you ever tried going to a beach with smell of fish all around you? Not pleasant, I can vouch for that! Instead we hit the famed Rushikonda Beach after lots of bargaining with the auto-driver. The beach is breathtakingly beautiful, and the water is not as violent as the beaches of Pondicherry, although not totally harmless as was evident by the constant vigilance of the Marine Police. A sumptuous lunch, a much needed hot bath, and a siesta later we donned the role of a tourist yet again to visit the RK Beach and the Submarine Museum situated there. The Submarine Museum is one must-visit place, only when we see the living conditions inside a submarine, can we understand what plight the Navy goes through to protect the Indian waters. Hats off to these guys, most of us would not be able to even imagine living in those cramped conditions.

Submarine Museum

2nd day morning dawned, and we were still undecided whether to visit Araku Valley and Borra caves or not. As per all the reports, it is a beautiful place, but I was in no mood to spend 5-6 hours in a car. So decided against visiting those places, and instead dedicated the time to become the before-faces of the fairness cream ads – since there was no time constraint, we spent hours at Rushikonda . At the beach a cop was moving up and down stopping people from going into deep water, but that did not seem to be his only responsibility, it seemed he had been entrusted with the added responsibility of Moral-Police. Some other couples were enjoying the beach close to where we were sitting, and the cop was almost always patrolling the part where couples were present. And also it seems the buffaloes have taken a liking to the Bay of Bengal. We saw two small herds of buffaloes roughing it against the sea, and they seemed to be enjoying it! The last pit stop in Vizag was Kailashgiri Hills – a small hill with a majestic view of the sea, the surrounding mountains, and the whole Visakhapatnam between the sea and mountains.

View from Kailashgiri Hills

Two days very well spent, but I think this is not the last that I am seeing of Vizag. I really liked the place, and can surely plan another trip to Visakhapatnam.

P.S: Paresh, thanks a lot for the post, it is beautiful πŸ™‚

18 Responses to “Trip to Visakhapatnam”


  1. 1 Sreekanth February 25, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    A road trip through Ghatis to Aruku valley would be very nice.You would have enjoyed the natures beauty.Even a train journey through tunnels would be thrilling.Sad you missed it ;-(

  2. 2 obelix February 25, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    burra caves is nice. the echo when you say burrrra in burra caves itself is worth it πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Sultan February 25, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    I have the exact same shot as the third one.

    Awesome place this one.

  4. 4 Kulbir Saini February 25, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    “you take awesome photographs”.

  5. 5 pkj February 26, 2009 at 9:03 am

    Thanks Kunal for linking the post.

    Wonderful pics! Twitter has spoiled me. I can’t go through long posts anymore 😦

  6. 6 Sangfroid February 26, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Nice trip u had!
    The beaches look really nice and the ocean is calmer too as compared to my recent trip to Pondicherry.

    Araku/Borra are left for the next trip, I guess πŸ˜‰

  7. 7 Chittaranjan February 26, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    gr8 trip! All my summer vacations would be spent in Vizag during childhood and I’ve some very fond memories….

    RK beach was the then-popular tourist spot and so was Appu Ghar, Kailasagiri and the Aquarium opp. RK beach.

    Alas, its been 8 long years since I’ve went there…. 😦

    P.S: Did they allow u to photograph the Submarine’s interiors?

  8. 8 Kunal March 2, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    Sreekanth, next time πŸ™‚

    obelix, will add another day for the next trip esp for this πŸ™‚

    Sultan, it sure is…

    Kulbir, thanks dude πŸ™‚

  9. 9 Kunal March 2, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    Paresh, twitter has spoiled me too, now I take much longer time to write posts… 😦

    Sangfroid, the sea was surely calmer than the one at Podicherry.. btw, your travelogue is still pending πŸ˜› anyway no complaints, keep the 55 coming!

    Chittaranjan, I think you should visit the place again πŸ™‚ and they did allow to photograph the sub’s interiors, although had to buy a ticket for that.

  10. 10 Karan March 3, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    You should do Araku, Borra caves, Buddha statues, Dolphin’s nose, three temple hill as well.

  11. 11 Kunal March 6, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    Karan, next time dude next time πŸ™‚

    Now I feel I should have written this post before going there πŸ˜›

  12. 12 Karan March 6, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    Haha.. Well, people are always ready with advice πŸ˜›

  13. 13 Ankit Chauhan March 8, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Nice set of pictures that you’ve posted, especially the one of the submarine and of buffalo.
    By the way I added your blog in my wordpress blogroll almost a week ago and gone through many of your posts.
    Would you please add my blog in your blogroll?

  14. 14 Kunal March 9, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Karan, that is true πŸ™‚ but before leaving for any place I generally take advice about places to visit from scores of people.. it is altogether different that I take decisions intuitively once I am there πŸ˜›

    Ankit, generally I stick to people whom I know or at least have some connection to but I may add it should I like your blog and the contents… but for that to happen it is necessary that I have a url that I go to to read πŸ™‚

  15. 15 Ankit Chauhan March 9, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    You mean you want my blog’s url?
    It’s http://ankitvkc.wordpress.com
    I’m going to have my own domain with in a few days!
    I’m new in this so called blogsphere! So need some exposure.
    Though my blog is just about the things around me and my areas of interest.

  16. 17 Kunal March 17, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    Ankit, the best exposure to blogging is gained by blogging regularly..

    Sreejith, πŸ˜€ .. btw dude, why are you always marked as spam by akismet?

  17. 18 Ankit Chauhan March 17, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    Blogging regularly isn’t itself everything. Visiting other’s blog is also a crucial part of blogging, I guess.
    For me its hard to blog regularly. Lots of things in life to be taken care of! For instance the upcoming University exams from 1st of April which going to end in last week of May.
    Anyhow I try my level best to be connected in blogging.


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 411,465 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


