The Nightmare Continues…

I always used to hate shopping, I still do, and after my recent experiences I think I am gonna hate it even more…

A while ago, I felt the need to buy a new pair of jeans – and yes the only responsible factor was my increasing weight, and after the shopping experience I’ve decided I’ll hit the gym anytime rather than shop. Coming back to the shopping part, I had but a simple requirement for my jeans – a decent one, which I can wear in office. Now I’d thought that this quest would be over in a single visit to any place that sells jeans. How naive and wrong I was, it was proved to me over the next two weeks.

On my umpteen visits to big brands’ showrooms, and the many malls dotted around Hyderabad I found such variety that I’ve never been exposed to. You want attention, stoop low to buy a undie-showing jeans, popularly called “Low Rise”. That much attention is not enough, ohh that attention is concentrated on your posterior parts and you want attention where you can see the person being attentive to you – remove the only holding force of your jeans, also known as “Live Unbuttoned”.

Hmm, not enough? Yeah the best looking jeans are the old ones. Let’s make your jeans look old, let me take the normal colour off your jeans. Most of the cloth would be blue/black, but we’ll add patches of white to give the faded look. Now doesn’t it looked like it has been through wear-and-tear over the years, bearing the brunt of bad washing, hey that gives me a good name for this, how about Monkey-Wash, it surely looks like it has been washed by a monkey with the fading in patches.. Not enough, you want more.. That is what I like to hear, let’s cut the jeans in some places, fray the edges of the cut, hang it along with chains to give it a rough look, and triple the price! Now that looks enticing… Who would not want to wear a pair that is torn in most of the places, and at strategic locations some patches have been stuck so that Sri Ram Sena does not catch the wearer citing indecent exposure…

Never again, no more buying clothes esp jeans, no more shopping!

14 Responses to “The Nightmare Continues…”


  1. 1 Sumati February 13, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    lol….awesome 🙂

  2. 2 Sangfroid February 13, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    😀 Variety is the spice of life.
    Being spoilt for choice is better than having no choice.

    Besides, “Low Rise” is cool n trendy n comfy too 😛

  3. 3 Arun February 13, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    probably you should try un-branded shops in Ameerpet and Kukatpally
    like Chermas, RS Brothers and et al.
    They are our traditional stores which we used to go before the mall craze came and they stock only decent stuff.
    Yes there may not be all such live unbuttoned and monkey wash
    but I am sure you can get a plain blue jeans!
    I shop only in those stores, Malls I reserve for window shopping!

  4. 4 ~nm February 13, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    Hahaha! I had gone through this same frustrating moments when I had wanted to buy one few months ago.

    I couldn’t find a ‘normal’ pair anywhere. The only ones available were the low waist kinds or the ones that are in fashion these days with front and back stone washed.

    It took me finally 6 months to find ‘my kind’ of jeans 🙂

  5. 5 Karan February 13, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Haha.. Well I find the choice in jeans the best thing 🙂
    Jai Levis! 🙂

  6. 6 Sanrag February 13, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    ROFL… maybe u shud start wearing formals… 😛

  7. 7 mythalez February 13, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    lol .. i can totally relate to your rant … jus too hard to find normal jeans in hyd ! 😛

    actually it is much easier to find normal jeans in uk than in hyd !! 😛

  8. 8 Chittaranjan February 14, 2009 at 2:51 am

    I’d kinda disagree….

    Whenever I have the desire/craving/necessity (read: whenever I get tired of washing the formals!) for jeans, I head straight to Central’s Killer section and get 2 or 3 pairs at one go 😛

    Till date, I haven’t been disappointed, either with the prices or with the choices.

    Going off a tangent, I hate any shopping which involves bargains (that means, inevitably, Ladies!) am dumbfounded every time the shopkeeper says “X Rupees”, the buyers blurt out “X/16 ko doge?” 😐

  9. 9 Aniket February 14, 2009 at 3:15 am

    And I thought I was the only one with Jeans problem.

  10. 10 oBelIX February 15, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    you should just by the normal jeans.

    after a couple of years, they will automatically acquire the faded out look, the bottoms will get torn and all 🙂

  11. 11 alosh February 16, 2009 at 11:04 am

    Monkey wash! Now thats a description :))
    Whatever happened to the good old denim.

  12. 12 Kunal February 17, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Sumati, thanks 🙂

    Sangfroid, I love being spoilt for choice, but hate it when “my choice” seems to have disappeared from the market 😦

    Arun, thanks for the tip-off.. would try out these the next time I want a pair of jeans.

    ~nm, 6 months! you are scaring me 😀

  13. 13 Kunal February 17, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Karan, we are spoilt for choices for everything now 🙂

    Sanrag, I have no problem with formal trousers.. formal shoes are what the problem is 🙂 I hate them!

    Rama, get a decent pair for me the next time you come visiting 😛

  14. 14 Kunal February 17, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Chittaranjan, Killer Jeans was what saved me finally… it was my last haunt before I gave up completely, and to my shock I found normal blue jeans at a decent price 🙂

    Aniket, you are not alone my friend 🙂

    obelix, that is what I am ranting about dude… it is next to impossible to buy a pair of “normal” jeans 😦

    Alosh, the good old denim has gone missing 😦


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 401,857 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


