QoS, Fashion, Golmaal Returns

The weekend was dedicated completely to movies. It had been a long time since I saw any movie, my last visit was for Kidnap, and I’d come back sorely disappointed. Next whole month was not at all conducive for movie watching, with pathetic releases, and the good releases coming during Diwali when I was blissfully gaining some kgs at home.

So I started the movie marathon with Quantum of Solace. As usual I had very high expectations of Bond, but he failed to deliver anything special. The cameraman was so high on adrenaline during action sequences he was not able to hold the camera stable at all, almost all action sequences were “shaky”. There were no gadgets from the future, no sexy cars; all James Bond had was a high-end cell phone. Till now all Bond movies had shown the finger to reality – Bond leaping off a cliff, getting into a plane mid-air to escape, Bond jumping on a hot-air balloon, Bond on a speed boat that runs underwater too, a car that turns invisible [ok, this one was a tad tacky]. This time there is nothing, and I mean nothing to make you believe that Bond is someone special with access to cool gadgets. He is nothing but Jason Bourne this time around.

Next up on the agenda was Fashion. Madhur Bhandarkar again gives a realistic movie, but it was too slow for my taste… Maybe it was the sumptuous lunch I had just before the movie that was working its wonders, maybe it was the slowness of the movie, but I was definitely nodding off. Page 3 was mind-blowing, after that Madhur Bhandarkar has never been able to match himself.

Golmaal Returns was the last movie for the weekend. And that was I’d say the best movie I saw in the weekend… Totally senseless, and total timepass movie. There was rarely a moment when I got bored. With ample references to earlier movies – Golmaal, Tashan, Black, and Ekta Kapoor serails – this movie rocked. Loved the bit where Tushar Kapoor’s sister in the movie [Kareena] is named Ekta and shown to be a K-Series addict and the way the soap names are used in the dialogues. No sense, all fun – that I how I’d term this movie.

7 Responses to “QoS, Fashion, Golmaal Returns”


  1. 1 sanyam November 10, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    Agree QoS is total disappointment. Have to watch the others to comment πŸ™‚

  2. 2 aloshbennett November 10, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    seems like a horrible lot! even then i’d go and see quantum of solace. its sad that dark knight is no more playing. that was my quantum of solace during these difficult times without any other good movie playing.

  3. 3 mythalez November 10, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    aah .. rock-on stopped playing last week before i could manage time to watch it (yah .. havent seen it yet)

    so i guess golmal returns might be the movie to watch before i head off?

  4. 4 manuscrypts November 10, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    thank god some sense prevailed and you went for Golmaal Returns!! πŸ™‚

  5. 5 Rakesh November 11, 2008 at 9:41 am

    haven’t seen QoS and Fashion yet.. but saw Golmaal and liked it.. total nonsense..total timepass … this is the only movie where I have liked Tussshaaar Kapooor’s [non]acting πŸ™‚

  6. 6 Kunal November 11, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    Sanyam, do watch Golmaal Retuns – it is pure fun πŸ™‚

    Alosh, for me the best movie of the year is Wall-E … Simply brilliant πŸ˜€

    Rama, yeah you can catch Golmaal Retuns. But try to catch Rock On too, maybe the people in alma-mater would be able to help πŸ˜›

    Manu, yup some sense prevailed πŸ™‚

    Rakesh, seriously this is the only movie where I can bear Tussssssssshar Kapoor… [by the way any idea how many ‘s’ are there in his name currently?]

  7. 7 Sangfroid November 12, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    I had decided to give QoS a pass and thankfully it came out as the right decision. I liked Fashion though. You are right in saying that it was a little slow.

    Golmaal is on the to-watch list!


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 409,090 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


