Kidnap

Why is that most of the Bollywood thriller movies fall flat on their faces? Kidnap has a very interesting premise, and a good star cast too. And as is quite normal these days, a very good trailer that piques the interest. But the last sequence between Dutt and Imran Khan ruined the movie for me. Come on now that everything is almost done, what is the use of labouring through long boring dialogues?

The movie is simple, Khan kidnaps Minisha Lamba, and makes Sanjay Dutt play some “criminal” games to exact revenge. Dutt keeps running after the clues and Imran Khan, Imran Khan keeps running away from Dutt and providing clues, while the two ladies – Minisha Lamba & her mother (the goalkeeper of Chak De, India) keep exposing always, no matter what the occasion is.

On the whole the movie is bearable, but could have been a lot better. At least one thing was good, I was assuming that at the end Imran Khan and Minisha Lamba would fall in love and “live happily ever after”, but luckily sanity prevailed and nothing like that happened.

Someone suggest to me some good Hindi thriller movies. And do not suggest Ittefaq, I’ve seen the movie and I love it 🙂

13 Responses to “Kidnap”


  1. 1 Chittaranjan October 2, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Muahahahahaha! We both got Pwned today! I by Drona and U by Kidnap 😛

    Ittefaq was a damn good movie! I’ve always seen Rajesh Khanna as the romantic hero…until I saw Ittefaq. Hats off!

    Have you seen Dhund (Zeenat Aman, Danny, Sanjay Khan & Navin Nischol)? It is an inspiration from some novel. Another that comes to mind is Khoj (Rishi Kapoor) tho its not exactly a thriller.

  2. 2 Sumati October 2, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    I would like to suggest you the movie Johnny Gaddar. The one and only hindi thriller movie till date which was awesome in my opinion…..

  3. 3 Rakesh October 3, 2008 at 9:11 am

    For a while, I was waiting for Drona and Kidnap to be released .. last night only read the reviews and lost all hopes 😦

  4. 4 sanyam October 3, 2008 at 11:41 am

    for a TOI reader (self confessed), I need ratings to decide whether or not watch the movie 🙂

    Btw, have heard lot of negatives about Drona.

  5. 5 Kunal October 3, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    Chittaranjan, after reading what you wrote about Drona, I feel I got the better deal 😛 as for Dhund, have not seen it.. will try to find it from some where… thanks for the tip!

    Sumati, oh yeah, I forgot that movie.. that was an awesome movie 🙂

    Rakesh, wait for the movies to come on TV, then see them 🙂

    Sanyam, I’d give it a rating of 2.5/5, maybe 3.. but I feel the movie would be a hit because of the good acting of Imran Khan & Sanjay Dutt, and Minissha Lamba’s cleavage…

  6. 6 lazybug October 3, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    I’d suggest Sharmilee and Mera Saaya. Masst hai ek dum.

  7. 7 mythalez October 3, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    @kunal, it will be a hit given it is a masala flick, on the lines of dhoom etc etc .. and more importantly, given that Drona is supposedly atrocious 😛

  8. 8 Karan October 3, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    You gave away the climax!
    On second thoughts.. Doesnt matter, especially after reading all the reviews 🙂

  9. 9 Sangfroid October 6, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    Guess Minisha Lamba has a ‘lamba’ future in Bollywood!

    Regd. desi thrillers, give ‘Woh Kaun Thi’ a spin.

  10. 10 Kunal October 7, 2008 at 10:20 am

    lazybug, will give those a try, thanks!

    Rama, I was just surfing rediff and came to know that both Drona and Kidnap have flopped 🙂

    Karan, seriously it does not matter a bit! give this movie a miss 🙂

    Sangfroid, going by your assumption Mamta Kulkarni should have been the next Madhuri Dixit 😛
    and yeah checked plot of “Woh Kaun Thi?” .. movie seems awesome!

  11. 11 000000 October 27, 2008 at 10:20 am

    drona sucks but casting of priyanka in it was a good thought


  1. 1 QoS, Fashion, Golmaal Returns « Something about Nothing Trackback on November 10, 2008 at 4:56 pm
  2. 2 4.. 3.. 2.. 1.. Movies! « Something about Nothing Trackback on April 17, 2009 at 1:24 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 401,857 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


