Arboreous

At times some words just stick to you. Like a song that you listen to early in morning and no matter what you do, you keep humming the song all day long. You listen to a word, read it, or hear about it from somewhere and you can never get it out. With songs, at least I can forget the song I was humming when I wake up the next morning; I can never say that it has been the same for words. I remember some words from my childhood, and I remember exactly when and how I came across that specific word.

Take for instance the word – Arboreous. The spell checkers of MS Word & FF say, the spelling is wrong, the right spelling is Arborous. The dictionary proves both of them wrong. Anyway, I first came across this arcane word around 12-15 years back in a Jughead comic when he was trying to improve his vocabulary, and was concentrating on the ‘A’ section of the dictionary. Since then this word has always been at the periphery of the circle of my used words, but I never got around to actually using it. I always remembered its meaning though – Jughead had used it to describe the freeways and the over-bridges, saying that it means something that has a tree like structure.

How come I remember this word after so many years, you ask, and go ahead to write a post on one specific word? Well recently in Mahabaleshwar, I came across a tree, shot a photograph of the seemingly tangled branches and when I was naming the shot this was the only word that came to my mind – Arboreous.

Arboreous in Clouds

Arboreous in Clouds

10 Responses to “Arboreous”


  1. 1 Arun September 18, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    thanks for enlightening me with a new word!

  2. 2 mythalez September 18, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    ahem … that reminds me of arboreal used to describe monkeys and the kind 😛

    anyway .. i like this new system of a discourse followed by a picture .. instead of just a picture 😀

  3. 3 manuscrypts September 18, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    i remember monkeys being arboreal..some science class.. 🙂

  4. 4 Aniket September 18, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    I love Archie comix, I love trees, I love clouds, I love Mahabaleshwar like places, and I also love this word now :))
    Arboreous, indeed!

  5. 5 Pallav September 19, 2008 at 8:54 am

    Nice post. I remember the Jughead story you are talking about; Archies comics were a lot of fun. And they were the right size so that you could hide them behind your text books. You got me thinking about some words and how I came to know their meaning. I should make a list!

  6. 6 obelix September 19, 2008 at 8:56 am

    the photo is nice.

    arr-bore-us … thats what ahab would say to a speech by Manmonhan Singh

  7. 7 Kunal September 22, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    Arun, you are welcome 🙂

    Rama, yeah even I like this better, will try to stick to this format.

    manuscrypts, how come I don’t remember any such science class, must have been sleeping in the last bench that time 😛

    Aniket, indeed 🙂

    Bhai, yeah the comics were perfect for hiding behind the text books 🙂 I picked up that art from you… 😀

    obelix, did I bore you? 😛

  8. 8 Sumati September 22, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    The fear of long words is called hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia…….. 🙂 Strange isn’t it

  9. 9 Kunal September 23, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Sumati, now that is interesting 🙂

  10. 10 Kusum Rohra October 11, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    I guess I am exactly opposite. I never ever seem to remember new words I read 😦


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 401,857 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


