New bookstore at Hyderabad: Books & Beyond

The “Books & Beyond” ad hoardings have been up at many places in the city and I liked the idea of converting the hoarding into a very realistic bookshelf. The bookstore had been beckoning me for a while, and Sunday saw me land at “Books and Beyond” at the Ashoka Mall in Road #1, Banjara Hills.

How was it? I’ll stick my neck out and say that currently this is the best bookstore in Hyderabad. Odyssey, Crossword, Walden – all of them have the same books, there is no variety. Not the same for B&B. I found many new authors, authors I had never heard of, authors I had heard of and never found the books, and authors who already exist in the other Hyderabadi bookshops. I am sure that from now on whenever I am going for book shopping, I am going to Books & Beyond. Yesterday, I had to think of my wallet, and kept back 4-5 books that I had picked up and returned home with only 5 books 😐

The negatives of this place – no place to sit and read through the books 😦 though they have provided stools in between the book shelves. Also why does every bookshop have to double up as a gift shop too? Can’t there be a bookstore that keeps only books?

But on the whole, an awesome book store with amazing collection of books. As of now, the best book shop in Hyderabad.

25 Responses to “New bookstore at Hyderabad: Books & Beyond”


  1. 1 Harith August 11, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    I didn’t find some notable books like LOTR,Bourne * there. But, that was 2-3 weeks ago. I hope it is getting better. One important feature these shops should provide is online shopping facility. I wish to see that soon.

  2. 2 mythalez August 11, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    how do you manage to read so many novels???

  3. 3 alosh August 11, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Hmm.. I’ll try it next time instead of Walden.

    Maybe no gifts, but I have wished many a times Landmark served coffee 🙂

  4. 4 Chittaranjan August 12, 2008 at 12:37 am

    er….mebbe the “gifts” are the “beyond” that the store name implies :mrgreen:

    And where is this Ashoka Mall? Never heard of it 😐

    P.S: A quick Googlearch reveals it belongs to spencer’s retail/RPG group.

  5. 5 Kunal August 12, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Harith, I did see Ludlum books, don’t remember seeing LOTR – but then I generally didn’t see the books I can find at any other bookstore.. Was concentrating on the new authors 🙂 online shopping – well you can always shop from indiaplaza.in or many other websites… I prefer having the book in my hand so that I can turn to any page and read a paragraph or two 🙂

    Rama, by not doing PhD 😛 seriously, my reading time has been reduced drastically – these days it is generally half hour daily, sometimes less, sometimes more…

    Alosh, if coffee is a necessity, I think you should try Crossword 🙂

    Chittaranjan, Ashoka Mall is located on the T-junction of Rd #1 & Rd #12, near Pizza Hut of Banjara Hills. Check on map Hope that helps 🙂

  6. 6 Karan August 12, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Thanks for this piece of info 🙂

  7. 7 Hyderabadiz August 17, 2008 at 4:37 am

    Great lead and good job. Keep up the good work. Stay tuned, MT

  8. 8 Arindam Moulick August 19, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    Yeah! That kind of problem exists everywhere and in particular in bookstores like Odyssey. I did not yet visit Crossword at City Centre Mall but I surely can decipher, especially the cacophonous gang of girls crowd of the place! They simply have to uselessly “do time pass.” I cannot understand why they have to visit a bookstore and “do time pass”! It sucks to even think of a noise wafting into my ears while I am browsing the books at a bookstore! I like Odyssey and Walden bookstores but now I am really quite excited to land up at Books and Beyond!

  9. 9 lazybug August 23, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    The gifts and stationary form the beyond part. 😉 I heard they sell used books too. 😐

  10. 10 vbsowmya August 25, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    Hmm…Thanks for the intro. Should check out soon then.

  11. 11 Sumati August 29, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    Mr Blogger you have become too old to think and write blogs!!! I need more blogs…..:(

  12. 12 Kunal August 30, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    vbsowmya, Hyderabadiz, Karan, you are welcome 🙂

    Arindam Moulick, check it out, I really liked it..

    Lazybug, I hate the beyond part 🙂 and I did not see any used books on sale there

    Sumati, aye aye ma’am… a new post is up 🙂

  13. 13 Poorna Shashank September 9, 2008 at 11:00 am

    Thanks for the tip Kunal. Have been looking out for ways to blow out my new found riches ;p Btw any new authors you suggest I read. Know of any place that rents books – instead of buying books that might be a better way for me.

  14. 14 Kunal September 9, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Kopos, I’d suggest “On the Beach” by Nevil Shute.. have been thinking of writing a review for the book, never getting around to it.. by the way, this is not a new author, but is a 1960s book.

    don’t know of any place that rents books, but yeah Tilak Road on Sunday is the solution if you do not want to burn a hole in your pocket 🙂

  15. 15 ahimaz January 9, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    Thanks for the info. I wanna know if B&B have a good graphic novels collection with them. So far, Odyssey at Jubilee Hills, in my view, have, or say had, the best of that genre, but they, so sad, hardly update it.

  16. 16 Kunal January 9, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    ahimaz, sorry man cannot help you in that regard.. have no idea about graphic novels, never liked them 🙂

  17. 18 Pranesh Sarangi March 30, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Friends, I have to give you a piece of bad news. I loved this book store and also shared the view that they have a lot of variety. I visited the Ashoka Mall yesterday evening and to my horror found that Books & Beyond has closed down. Spencer’s too has closed down. Music World continues to function. All three belong to RPG Group. Apparently, they were making losses. I felt sad that the economic slowdown has taken its toll. There are not that many good book stores and my family including my wife and children love to read. This is a loss to Hyderabad. Other that Odyssey, Crossword, Walden and Himalaya, does anyone know of a good book store in Hyderabad?

  18. 19 Ahimaz March 30, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    It’s sad indeed! My favorite spots are Odyssey (Jubilee Hills) and Crossword (City Central) here. Last time I visited Chennai Landmark I heard them say they are opening one in Hyderabad soon. That aside, there is a Landmark store in the international airport.

  19. 20 Kunal March 30, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    Pranesh, if it is new books that are you looking for I’d suggest Odyssey (Jubilee Hills). Right now, I think they have the best collection. If you do not mind used books, land up in Tilak Road. a mind-blowing collection of books would welcome you there.

    Ahimaz, having a Landmark in International Airport is a waste 😦 a Landmark is needed in the city!

  20. 21 Ahimaz March 30, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    Sure, Kunal, it is since it’s beyond reach for a city dweller. I asked the same of the store guys there and they said there will be one opening in the city. Heaven knows when!

  21. 22 silentdreamz October 2, 2009 at 1:34 am

    What’s d status of B & B at Ashoka mall now??? Has they opened it again. I heard RPG was planning to come up with 5 new B & Bs in Hyderabad and 10 in Kolkatta…Are stores in Hyderabad functional…M doing some research on Book stores in India… would be grateful for the knowledge shared…

    Gaurav

  22. 23 Pranesh Sarangi February 4, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    Here is an update on new bookstores.

    Landmark has in the last few months opened two stores. One at Banjara Hills, next to Ohri’s and another at Somajiguda near the Babu Khan Mall, Spar Supermarket. Landmark as I have seen in Bangalore and Pune has a fantastic collection of books and covering the widest variety of esoteric subjects. Music and Video collection is great too. So, that has been very exciting for me. I can happily spend a few hours just browsing.

    Crossword has opened another store at the Inorbit Mall at Hitech City next to Durgam Cheruvu (Secret Lake). If you have been to their City Centre store, then this is very similar. Good collection of latest books and music.

  23. 24 Kunal February 5, 2010 at 11:51 am

    Thanks Pranesh.
    I’ve visited Landmark, and they have a very good collection of books. It’s collection is one of the best in Hyderabad.

    Crossword always has the normal collection, nothing great.

    I keep visiting either Landmark or Odyssey in Jubilee Hills.

    And there is another new bookstore open – Oxford on Rd. No. 1 in Banjara Hills. Although, have not checked it out.

  24. 25 ahimaz February 5, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    Landmark at Somajiguda, that I frequent, is pretty impressive. It’s better than Odyssey, Jubilee Hills for my money.

    There’s a second-hand bookstore, MR bookstore, that’s right opposite Lifestyle, Begumpet, been around now for a few years, which is stocking titles better than ever.


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 401,857 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


