On Hyderabadi Roads..

With the amount of driving I do in Hyderabad, I keep seeing weird things, and keep having strange experiences. For a long time I thought I’d make a category called “Road Tales” or something, but let it be πŸ™‚

I observed the following over a period of past 2-3 months, but never got around to blog about it… Penning the observations today –

Why have the foot-over bridges being constructed? The one that is constructed at Ameerpet surely sports a deserted look. I have used that bridge 2-3 times and never once I have met another soul up there, and no, Ameerpet has suddenly not become traffic free, all people who wish to cross the road put up their hand, halt the bikes, autos, cars, buses in mid-road and cross over nonchalantly – right under the shade of the foot-over bridge.

This incident pales in comparison to what I witnessed yesterday. There is another foot-over bridge near LV Prasad Eye Hospital. Yesterday while returning home there was a small traffic jam there – generally that road facilitates a very smooth drive, and this was an aberration. The reason for the jam – a traffic cop has stopped traffic so that people can cross the road, I have no problems with traffic cops helping people cross the road, but come on how can one be so blind that he is unable to see the bridge that is just 10 meters away!

For the first time in my life I saw a cop chase a car as it had jumped the signal. A red Maruti Swift was chased down by a cop in a bike – definitely first such sighting for me.

I have a newfound respect for the cops, at least one. I had stopped at the traffic signal near Lumbini Park and a traffic policeman was checking a bike rider. I saw the guy offering a note to the cop and him refusing that. I hope he refused it because he was honest and not that he was asking for more.

On another note, there is a traffic cop in Madhapur whom I have regularly seen accepting bribes. A lean guy, with a moustache – looks quite comedic when he tries to look mean…

I saw this happening right under the Ameerpet foot-over bridge. As I was walking towards the steps to the bridge I saw a small crowd surrounding a guy. Anyone remembers the 70s movie where a guy on a roadside is dealing cards, and people are betting? That was what was happening there, a guy was fiddling around with 3 overturned cups and people around were guessing under what cup lay whatever was to be found. Mostly I saw 10 & 20 rupee notes, but there was one guy (an auto rickshaw driver, evident from the trademark khaki vest) who bet 100 bucks, lost it and on the next bet, promptly pulled out another 100-rupee note. What was the outcome of that bet, I do not know; but I left wondering at the sheer stupidity some people possess!

9 Responses to “On Hyderabadi Roads..”


  1. 1 Sreejith July 31, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    u seem to be spending a considerable time in your car πŸ˜€

  2. 2 Lekhni August 1, 2008 at 1:01 am

    I wonder why they constructed those foot over bridges in the first place. Why didn’t they learn from the experience in Chennai- foot over bridges have existed for at least 5 years now and no one uses them.

    Elderly people and people with heart problems will never climb up those stairs. Now, if you had escalators on those bridges like in Vegas… πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Rakesh August 1, 2008 at 8:26 am

    those foot over bridges are so difficult to climb… like eLekhni (in the previous comment) I would also wait for the day when there will be an escalator for that… untill then wait,watch and cross safely πŸ˜€

  4. 4 mythalez August 1, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    to make ppl use the bridges, the dividers on the road should have fences so that people cannot cross … but it isnot possible in most places for obv reasons ….

    and u shud definitely make the road-tales category … the everyday roadside observations are nice to read πŸ™‚

  5. 5 Aniket August 1, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    Go read a book called ‘Tales of the Open Road’ Ruskin Bond πŸ™‚

  6. 6 alapana August 4, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Next time i travel from madhapur i will watchout for this lean mean cop:) and sheer stupidity in some people will make us all proud and happy that we are not like them,so they make us realize the biggest truth of our life:)))

    Why at Ameerpet? anywhere they construct those stupid foot over bridge they will be still empty, who will climb so high just to cross the road,i would rather stop the vehicles and cross it over;p

  7. 7 Kunal August 7, 2008 at 11:25 am

    Sreejith, aye aye sir. Now I prefer the car anytime πŸ™‚ love driving it…

    Lekhni, having escalators would not be a cost efficient idea, but yeah then they should have had slopes instead of stairs (like in Nagpur Railway Station), much more accessible, and much more comfortable.

    Rakesh, come on man, how can you say they are difficult to climb! Had you been a 60 year old person, I would have said “ya you are right”, but dude you have been climbing mountains, trekking and you say you cannot climb stairs! I don’t believe you…

    Rama, hmm, will think about making the category. Actually I like to have my blog properly categorized, so now if I make a new category, I’ll have to go and put the old posts in to this new category too… No time to do that πŸ™‚

    Aniket, thanks for the suggestion. I’ve hardly read any of Ruskin Bond’s, let me start with this one πŸ™‚

    Alapana, I would climb up rather than take a risk – be foolhardy, and jump in to high moving traffic equipped with nothing, but a solitary raised hand stopping the cars & buses.

  8. 8 alosh August 9, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    Only time I saw a foot over-bridge serving any sort of purpose was when once it rained suddenly and all the bike riders took shelter under it.

  9. 9 Kunal August 11, 2008 at 11:41 am

    Alosh, yeah that seems to be one of the more practical uses of those bridges πŸ™‚


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 401,857 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


