Tale from the Office Cafeteria

“Every day you learn something new.” I had heard that long back, and had also forgotten it long back. Used to remember that when I learned to play Quake in college, remembered it when I was in training in office, remembered it when I was learning the nitty-grittys of the corporate life, and then forgot it for a long long time until yesterday – during lunch at the office cafeteria.

I got an amazing lesson on how to cook egg curry within 10-15 minutes, or a better way to put it – a bachelor’s way to cook egg curry. I’ll present the recipe in a succinct manner:

  1. Boil Eggs.
  2. Cut onions, tomato – heat, mix, pour water to make gravy.
  3. Drop the eggs in the tomato, onion gravy!

Voila! You have the egg curry ready, without a doubt the fastest way to make egg curry, and without a doubt the fastest way to put me off an egg-curry diet 😦

11 Responses to “Tale from the Office Cafeteria”


  1. 1 Chittaranjan July 23, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    Your Canteen’s way is much better than mine! It goes thus:

    1. Boil Eggs. Keep Ready in a plate.
    2. Have Gravy ready in a big handi (no problem if its un-salted, or is oily or even from yesterday’s chana masala)
    3. When the Employees come up for lunch, take an egg, put in a plastic cup, pour some gravy on top. Tadannnnnn…..Egg Curry is ready!

    P.S: I’ll tell about our canteen’s “Egg Bujji” some other time 😐

  2. 2 Rakesh July 24, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Mu ha ha ha ha ..

  3. 3 obelix July 24, 2008 at 9:56 am

    grr … damn no blogroll. now i have to manually go and subscribe to ppl’s rss 😦

    i missed like 4 posts …

  4. 4 mythalez July 24, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    aah boiling eggs is too much work ..
    I wud suggest puttin in raw eggs along with the onions and tomatoes πŸ˜›
    it wud taste better, wont need much water for gravy
    and yah .. some tadka initially and masalas might actually make it edible πŸ˜€

  5. 6 kiran July 25, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    @obelix use google reader and subscribe to that blogroll rss

  6. 7 Kunal July 25, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Chittaranjan, I am not alone πŸ™‚ and don’t remind me of egg-bhurji, I am already off it 😦

    Rakesh, has le saale has le … thode din pahle tak tu bhi yahi kha raha tha, ab tu vaha “Dog/Crocodile/Snake” kha … ab main hasunga – Mu ha ha ha ha ..

    obelix, with the blogroll down, there were times when I had way extra time! thank god it is back… and how come everybody is giving you gyaan in the subsequent comments? πŸ˜›

    Rama, tell me you tried cooking egg curry and that is what happened, and now since you have had the misfortune of eating that, you are making others eat that by publicizing it πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰

    RPS, thanks.

    kiran, I don’t think obelix would not know how to subscribe to a blog.

  7. 8 Sreejith July 30, 2008 at 4:19 am

    cooking eggs landed you in a soup πŸ˜›

  8. 9 Kunal August 1, 2008 at 10:59 am

    Sreejith, stop PJing πŸ˜› and tell me why does WordPress & Akismet think that you are spam?? Luckily I had time to kill, and was checking for false positives in spam and found two of your comments… Why are you being marked as spam? Mail those people and find out…

  9. 10 sadam7 August 1, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    hi, iam daffa 17mounths old, i live in Pekanbaru ( Riau province )- Indonesia. i remember my uncle “JI” when i was reading your story about coocking eggs. he often coocking eggs if he feel hungry in Pune when he was training there, do you can curry bomb?

  10. 11 ilaçlama August 11, 2008 at 1:34 am

    thanks


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 401,857 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


