Gully Cricket

There is no doubt about it that Cricket is something that addles the brain. During my school life, I used to spend hours playing cricket, few more hours watching cricket, and the major conversation point with friends would be, yes you guessed it right, Cricket!

When we used to live in our old house, cricket was limited to either grounds (generally in school) or small rooms within our house (where my elder bro used to kick my ass). When we shifted to our new home (when I was 14) I discovered the wonder called Gully Cricket. A T-shaped junction in our colony used to metamorphose into a cricket ground every evening. The stumps would reside on the joint of T, and to score runs the only options were a very square square-cut, pull or flick (again hit very square), or the simplest of the options (which I used to take regularly) drive down the ground. To add to the complexity, we had many specific no-go zones (where once you hit the ball, either the house-owner does not return the ball, or you’d have to search for an eternity for the ball in the underbrush – this was the cover area). If you hit the ball there, you are out.

We generally used to play six overs a side matches here and scoring runs was such an arduous task that a score of 15 would be quite challenging. There were matches when even a score of 1 has been successfully defended! There are many memories associated with Gully Cricket – I once bowled a perfect out-swinger to get my bro out caught behind (one of the rare occasions when I got the better of him, otherwise he used to loft me over my head for sixes with monotonous regularity), I saw one of the best shots I have ever seen being hit live – the ball lands just short of good length and a fierce cut greets it the ball proceeds to take a very flat very square trajectory for a six, and many last ball finishes.

All this and more flashed through my mind as I saw a group of kids, outside my home, indulging in a game of Gully Cricket, even when the temperature outside was nearing 40 Celsius. Cricket surely does addle the brain!

Gully Cricket

P.S: More proof being offered by Jayaram. This is what happens when you get too involved in Cricket πŸ™‚

11 Responses to “Gully Cricket”


  1. 1 cricket999 May 29, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    Here is something I had always dreamt about and now am seriously thinking to implement. I would love to get your feedback on.

    I am planning on opening Cricket Batting Cages all across India, starting with New Delhi. What it entails is set of 12 batting acges utilizing Cricket bowling machines intended for players to go out and hit, Twenty20 style. Adjacent to this area will be a Virtual Twenty20 arena that will once again utilize bowling machines but is able to field atleast 6 players (6-a-side anyone?), so basically you can field, if you wish, 6-a-side team and start your games again hitting all over the arena. The ambience will be pretty much the same as we see today in IPL games.. with same crowd noises, audio-visual effects, cheerleaders etc..

    So what do you think ? Will this click ??

  2. 2 Aniket May 29, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    Brings back memories of my own childhood. I didn’t play much gully cricket, as were we fortunate enough to have not one, but several huge grounds in those days in our neighbourhood. We used to have matches between colonies, and even used to bet on them and play for money.

    I remember playing throughout the day in the June heat in Rajasthan, when people used to get killed of the heat wave. And we used to slip out of our homes, leaving the comfort of coolers just to have a game in the sweltering heat. You’re so right… cricket does addle the brain!

  3. 3 Karan May 29, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    Lovely post. Just says whatever one feels like. I remember those square cuts and square pulls. The place were we played, the best option was to play straight. Guess that only helped us hone our batting skills, especially as the experts ask us to play straight. Oh, and of course I cant forget “cricket ghar mein”, The game “Howzatt”, Center Fresh cricket cards and all those wonderful childhood cricket memories πŸ™‚

    • 4 rohan January 16, 2012 at 12:10 am

      Hey Karan,

      I just caem across your post while searching for center fresh cards… I was actually looking to complete my collection.. Please let me know if you still have your collection intact and if ur interested in exchanging any of your duplicate cards to help complete my collection.. I have a few duplicates as well

      Rohan
      rohan99@gmail.com

  4. 5 mythalez May 30, 2008 at 3:49 am

    aah .. reminds me of my cellar cricket .. the form that i most enjoyed … comes second only to the classroom cricket which we sometimes used to play by pushing the desks and chairs to the side and a paper ball πŸ˜€

  5. 6 Rakesh May 30, 2008 at 11:24 am

    I still dont have a cable connection :(( stop talking about cricket…

  6. 7 Pallav June 2, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Its amazing how you remember so many details. I would never have remembered that they used to be six over a side games. And who was this person who hit the fierce square cut?

  7. 8 Sangfroid June 3, 2008 at 12:55 am

    Gully cricket is unlimited masti.
    Have so many fond memories! One I remember distinctly is playing in heavy downpour … twas awesome πŸ™‚

  8. 9 Kunal June 3, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    cricket999, it may work, but then depends on what location you have and a zillion other factors.. Still, an innovative idea!

    Aniket, even we used to play for money, although I have been on the losing side always on those matches… The amount never used to go over 5-10 bucks per person, but in those days that used to be a big amount!

    Karan, playing those straight drives regularly surely helped when I played cricket in college πŸ™‚

    Rama, variants variants! one game, so many forms πŸ˜€

    Rakesh, hahaha πŸ˜€ I think now you can watch Cricket, although IPL is over πŸ˜›

    Bhai, I just started to think about it and memories came flooding back πŸ™‚ And I think it was Shibu Bhaiya who had hit the square cut, although I am not sure…

    Gaurav, hmmm never tried that… should have done so earlier πŸ˜›

  9. 10 bene June 12, 2008 at 12:07 am

    I just wanted to say that you write well. You capture the moment with your words.

    keep it up!


  1. 1 DegreesGet.com » Nice Degree Celsius photos Trackback on November 5, 2011 at 11:48 am
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 401,857 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


