Yes, I am married…

Before I encounter this question once again let me answer it, “Married life is great…” Thank you very much for not asking this question again… Now that I have this weight of my heart, it is time to recount a bit on the life as it was over the past two months.

Left for home on 15th Feb, met Bhai after a long long time, felt amazing. The guests had already started congregating, so that did deter me from spending time with the family, but that helped me steal some time with the soon-to-be better half (I was not supposed to meet her before marriage, but when did I do what I was supposed to do?). Anyway, spent a hectic week doing absolutely nothing, and on 22nd we moved the base to the Wedding Place. That day the function list read – Chunri and Garba. Chunri – Sagai in Gujarati tradition – was still ok, I just had to sit and smile at all people greeting me. What followed was straight out of a horror movie for me, and comedy movie for all others – I had to dance during the Garba function; that too for straight 3-4 hours. I tried to spend the evening as gracefully as I could, and you do not have to be a wizard to conclude that I failed abysmally. On the other hand, the better-half can teach Madhuri Dixit a few moves, so you can understand my plight.

The last night that I was to spend as a bachelor was devoted to Poker and Sweep. Adi, Abhinav, PJ, Parry, Vidit – thanks a lot guys for making it to my marriage, and Parry thanks for teaching me Poker and Sweep, again!

An early morning was needed for the first ceremony of the day – Mandap Muhurt. Haldi ceremony followed it, a hurried bath later I was all ready for the Baraat. Now this is the bad thing about Baraat – I had no idea what was going on there – only later on when I was seeing all photographs and videos did I realize what was happening, all the time I was sitting comfortably in the car.  Towards the end of the Baraat, I was allowed a glimpse of the dancing from the worst possible spot – the center-stage. Once we reached the venue the better-half was ready to welcome me with garlands in hand. I was ready for a 3-4 hour long marriage (generally that is how long the Gujarati marriages last – at least the ones that I have attended), but the Punditji who was conducting the marriage was awesome! He finished all the functions in almost one and a half hours. During the Pheras there is a custom – whoever sits first on the chair more number of times after Punditji completes his Shlokas would rule the roost. Shockingly it was I who won! I was scoffed at for thinking and claiming that this would hold true for the rest of my life, and unsurprisingly in a subsequent similar “competition” the better-half won hands-down – which laid down the guidelines for the married life I am spending these days (since the better-half is reading this over my shoulder, I have to write that she treats me nicely ๐Ÿ˜› )

The marriage was short, but unluckily I could not say the same about the Wedding Reception. We were standing on stage for more then 3 hours, and throughout we were greeting guests, smiling, posing for the cameras, saying bye to the guests, and immediately turning to greet the next set of guests. And hats off to my Dad, almost 1500 people came on stage and Dad knew the name of each and every one. He introduced me to everybody, and I can claim to not remembering even a single name ๐Ÿ™‚ One of the guests came on stage and said, “You must remember me by now”, as usual shamelessly I reply “Oh yes”, the uncle asks again, “Who am I?”, quick thinking (or thinking on my feet would be more apt, as I was on my feet the whole time) saved the day – I glanced at the envelope he gave me, read the name, and carried on the conversation ๐Ÿ™‚ A tiring 3 hours later, we stepped down and for the first time we were able to enjoy food that was served at our own Wedding Reception.

13 Responses to “Yes, I am married…”


  1. 1 mythalez April 3, 2008 at 7:39 am

    nice nice ..
    a long awaited post ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. 2 obelix April 3, 2008 at 9:22 am

    +1 mythalez

    nice nice …
    a long awaited post ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. 3 Manoj April 3, 2008 at 11:52 am

    hehe

    Nice write up.
    BTW when are you giving me party ? ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. 4 Himank April 3, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    Hey nice description.. But dont u guys sit on a “ghodhi” in baraaat, I for one hav seen all baraats with the dulha on the ghodhi..

    And ya obvioulsy Congrats for the marriage !! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. 6 sanyam April 4, 2008 at 9:42 am

    pics .. pics .. pics .. pics .. pics
    pics .. pics .. pics .. pics .. pics
    pics .. pics .. pics .. pics .. pics
    pics .. pics .. pics .. pics .. pics
    pics .. pics .. pics .. pics .. pics

    UPLOAD THE PHOTOS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. 7 Sangfroid April 4, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    I would have asked the first question you already answered!

    All the best ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. 8 Sangfroid April 4, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    n yea … PICS!!!!

  8. 9 Ankit April 4, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    marriages are fun … unless its urs .. ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. 10 Karan April 7, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    congrats ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. 11 niketa April 7, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Congratulations!!

  11. 12 Kunal April 8, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    Rama, yeah even I waited long for this post ๐Ÿ˜€

    obelix, +1 my reply to Rama ๐Ÿ™‚

    Manoj, come to Hyd, take the party ๐Ÿ˜›

    Himank, ghodi is not compulsory, a well-decorated car is generally the norm these days …

    Chittaranjan, thanks.

    Sanyam, sent you the pics ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sangfroid, thanks for not asking the question ๐Ÿ˜›

    Ankit, totally agree!

    Karan, thanks.

    Niketa, thanks.

  12. 13 lifeandsuch April 22, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Awesome.. congrats.. and appy married life..!!!


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 409,147 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


