Web 2.0 Error Messages

These days, the Web 2.0 companies are very considerate about your blood pressure, they have used their innovation even when it comes to the dreaded “404 – File not Found”, or “Under Maintenance” errors. Listing some of the errors that I stumbled along when I was visiting the sites.

I think everyone has said “Hello” to the Bloglines plumber one time or the other. This was one of the initial Error 2.0 Message that I saw, and I was very impressed. Not for long though, he gets on my nerves now. I have found many better error messages than this one. Although I think this is where the “cool error message” thing started (correct me if I am wrong).


Jaiku has a humourous one liner.


Technorati tries too, but apart from “brb” nothing can be deemed Web 2.0 classy 🙂 Wish they had tried a bit harder…


Twitter‘s lolcatz. After all lolcatz is the current rage…

Flickr is getting a massage. You get massage, and more RAM… That is one swell deal 😀 There was another website where I had seen an error that said “Out on a coffee break” or something on those lines… Seemed to me a direct lift of the Flickr error message and so I did not include that in the list.

These errors were okayish… You read/see, smile a wry smile at not getting the page you wanted, and move on… Then there were three errors that could be deemed really funny.

Reddit’s alien is one of my favourites, and so is Reddit. Reddit has a bookmarklet “Serendipity” which comes to my rescue whenever I am bored – which is quite often 🙂 A click, and I am instantly taken to some random page. If the page is not available, Reddit does not hesitate to poke fun at itself. There are multiple variations of the same…

Google Reader team would have banged heads to come up with this limerick 😛 By the way is this a limerick? What ever it is, I liked it…

But the best of the lot is WordPress. With a short story titled “Confessions Of A Server”, WP takes the cake, and the cherry too… Click on the adjoining image for a readable version of the short-story, the 15 seconds of your life that you give to read that is properly utilized 🙂

TechnoratiTechnorati: ,

11 Responses to “Web 2.0 Error Messages”


  1. 1 Chittaranjan January 23, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    Hehhhe…Nice collection.

    The most Pathetic of them all would have to be Orkut’s “No Donut For U” message 👿

  2. 2 brweb January 24, 2008 at 7:51 am

    Howdy! So you’re interested new things like me. Why not try to peek my page and see?! Its something truly vast your mind and pocket:)

  3. 3 brweb January 24, 2008 at 7:51 am

    Howdy! So you’re interested new things like me. Why not try to peek my page and see?! Its something truly vast your mind and fatten your pocket:)

  4. 4 mythalez January 24, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    nice nice
    i never expected someone would blog about error messages 🙂
    btw .. I dont remember which website it is … but which gives images of hamsters taking rest after running the server.

  5. 5 alosh January 24, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Google’s hiccups were the ones I started noticing first. No doubt, “No donuts for you” is the one that gets to me.

  6. 6 alosh January 24, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Jinxed! I got error commenting.

  7. 7 Chittaranjan January 24, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    >>Hamsters taking rest.
    I kinda remember that from some Torrent site…TorrntFreak?

  8. 8 Chittaranjan January 24, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    @alosh: Xactly! Jinxed it is! I too got the “Whoops!” WP error message 😐

  9. 9 Kunal January 25, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    Chittaranjan, I totally forgot about that one 🙂 Having deleted my orkut account years ago, I have rarely encountered that…

    brweb, is this a spam comment? I am not sure….

    Rama, hamsters taking rest… Google did not help 😦 let me know if you remember the site…

    Alosh, WordPress was very unstable yesterday 🙂

    Chittaranjan, thanks for the help!

  10. 10 Sangfroid January 28, 2008 at 12:36 am

    Interesting post! Plain marketing gimmicks … Its a 404 Page not found at the grassroots but then they say presentation does matter 😉

  11. 11 nipun February 4, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    hey hey ..nice lolcatz will almost always score in being
    one of the best 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 406,804 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


