Book Review: When a Lawyer Falls in Love – Amrita Suresh

When a Lawyer Falls in Love tells a very simple story, and yet it never drags, instead you get all nostalgic reading this novel. It is a simple story about six friends and their travel through the final years of college life. Reading the description of college, the canteen, the college fest, I was instantly transported back to my college days. Of all the memories of yesteryears – I treasure the college life memories the most. Without a doubt, the author – Amrita Suresh – too shares the same sentiments.

The college life is just the backdrop, the main story is, as the title suggests, a love story or rather two love stories. And it is not the filmy type of love, the descriptions seemed so vivid that I had doubts that the book may be a bit auto-biographical 🙂 Well that is just my speculation, but still the love stories are very realistic. Ankur was sulking as is the case with any jealous lover and earlier he was a pet to Sonali’s charms. Souvik was tongue-tied, even when proposing to Jaishree, the words were not free-flowing. He was a man of written words, not the spoken one.

“When a Lawyer Falls in Love” is a very simple book, it makes you nostalgic, and makes you remember the good college days. There sure are many sentences where the writer waxes eloquently, and you have to re-read the sentence or the paragraph to make sense, but the writer is always allowed her small indulgences. At a very decent price, this book is a perfect way to spend a lazy afternoon.

When this book was released it so low profile, that I hardly found any references to this book or the author on any website. As far as I know, there is no official website of both – the book and the author. The only information I could glean out was that the writer is/was(?) a student at HCU pursuing her Masters.

19 Responses to “Book Review: When a Lawyer Falls in Love – Amrita Suresh”


  1. 1 Book Reader January 17, 2008 at 3:46 am

    I have fond memories of my college days (at least undergrad, grad school was way different), and always am a sucker for movies or books that let me reminisce about those days. I didn’t see a publisher; where can I pick up a copy of this book?

  2. 2 Kunal January 17, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Book Reader, the publisher is Radiance Publications of Hyderabad. Anyways I don’t know if this book is available outside Hyderabad…
    Hope you find the book 🙂

  3. 3 mythalez January 17, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    seriously … how do u even come across such books?
    keep the copy safe with u .. I ll pick it up when I come to hyd 😛

  4. 4 Kunal January 23, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    Rama, when ever I visit a bookshop, I spend hours browsing 🙂 Once I am a bookshop only two things can drive me out – either I buy sufficient number of books, or an apocalypse … 😀

  5. 5 Amrita March 19, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Thank you so much for actually writing a review! Warmest Regards! Amrita

  6. 6 Amrita Suresh March 19, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    Your review has done wonders for my confidence!! Must say, that you have a rather simple and endearing style of writing! Keep it up Kunal! And yup, why don’t you shoot me a mail at lawyers_notes@rediffmail.com, feedback always feels good to read!

  7. 7 Kunal March 19, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Amrita, it is great having the author of the book herself commenting on the book’s review … Does not happen everyday 😀 I hope more books are coming forth ….
    And thanks for appreciating my writing style…

  8. 8 Amrita Suresh March 19, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    Wow! That was quick! I happened to be online….I guess you must be a little suspicious as to whether I am a crank….trust me I’m not! Infact I’m on a whole publicity drive for the book….any idea how I should do it?

  9. 9 Kunal March 19, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    Amrita, I trust you are not a crank 🙂
    As for the publicity drive, the first thing I would suggest is to have a presence on the web… people are searching for your name, your book and landing on this blog review… a web presence is must for you and your book …

  10. 10 Amrita Suresh March 19, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    Hmm….the second reprint is already out and the smart soul that I am, I’ve yet to start a website….I’ve been told to visit colleges and speak about the book, as a college student yourself, d’you think that will work?

  11. 11 Amrita Suresh March 19, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    I presume you must be in your final year, so must be all busy so we’ll catch up sometime later but yup I’d love to know the parts in the novel which you thought were autobiographical….the fact is the book is simply 230 pages of pure fiction! I went to an all girls college and all through I was just this bespectacled being sitting in the first bench. Only the college fest bit is true and the fact that I actually attended the secret wedding of a classmate!:P

  12. 12 Kunal March 19, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    Your presumption is a bit off the mark, I used in the final year of my college three years back 😛 Anyways mailing you my views… Taking this conversation offline…

  13. 13 Maliq September 6, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    Thanx for the Review, Kunal..!!
    Reviews by educated persons are so helpful u know..!!

    hmmm.. the book is great..!! All thanx to the Author..!!

  14. 14 HalleY December 4, 2010 at 8:23 am

    I think the author is a softskills mentor for MSIT at IIIT-H
    That is what i could gather from the article on her in eenadu today 🙂

  15. 17 Jaya Lalwani August 29, 2011 at 12:30 am

    Great work by Amu.. She is a dear friend from school…. Her writing style has been an inspiration ever since those days…. Looking fwd to more of ur work Amu!!! Cheers 🙂

  16. 18 indu November 11, 2011 at 9:08 am

    hey dis is awesome. really after reading dis v turn back 2 r olden days spent with r friends. all d best 2 d book. dis buk is an example of friends and their luv


  1. 1 उपर वाला हमारा साथ देता है! « ॥दस्तक॥ Trackback on February 18, 2008 at 9:07 am
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

The 140 Chars

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 404,613 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


