Kishore Kumar

Recently I have rediscovered Kishore Kumar. I had been listening to the usual mix of Hindi and English songs for quite a long time, and was getting bored. In the past 2-3 months none of the new songs had impressed me enough to stake a claim in the favs.m3u Winamp play-list.

I had no idea what all songs I had on the hard disk – there is clutter even in my songs folder, ala the real life – I was scouring through it when I saw the Kishore Kumar song – “Pal Pal Dil ke Paas” (I think it is from Blackmail, although not sure), an instant double-click. Humming along the song, I found lots of hidden gems – “Yeh Dil Na Hota Bechara”, “Ek Ladki Bheegi Bhagi Si”, “Woh Shaam Kuch Ajeeb Thi”, “Chala Jaata Hoon” and many many more songs.

I do not remember the music of “Speed of Sound” or the lyrics of “Lemon Tree” or the guitar of “Hotel California”. All I care right now … Actually I do not care about anything right now. Kishore Kumar has put me in a trance, and my fingers are disconnected from my brain. As I type this, humming “Mere Saamne Vali Khidki Mein”, I feel oddly contented.

Go listen to some Kishore Kumar songs πŸ™‚

TechnoratiTechnorati: , ,

19 Responses to “Kishore Kumar”


  1. 1 Ashish November 20, 2007 at 4:24 pm

    Almost everyday i start my day at office by listening ‘Musaafir Hu Yaroo’ !! He is a true legend!

  2. 2 davekrunal46 November 20, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    yes, pal pal dil.. it is from movie BlackMale.

  3. 3 mythalez November 21, 2007 at 2:54 am

    I have always had a kishore kumar folder .. to be called upon in times of need πŸ˜€

  4. 4 Manoj November 21, 2007 at 11:16 am

    awesome, now try some songs of Mukesh.

    For long I used to think he sucked, but these days me listening to his songs only!!

  5. 5 Ankit November 21, 2007 at 11:27 am

    Kishore is a legend … but do try Hemant Kumar … !!

    some no.s like ..

    tum pukar lo
    na tum hamen jaano
    jaane vo kaise log the
    beqarar kerte ..

    u just cant get bored with them .. πŸ™‚

  6. 6 kcp November 21, 2007 at 3:00 pm

    Hello Kunal..if you dont mind, can you please give your age ?

    It is interesting ( for me ) to know how the young generation is mesmerized by HIS voice.

    With this I have hope that the future generation would be willing to listen to good music.

    KCP

  7. 7 aniket November 21, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    Yeah, I’ve been a HUGE Kishore fan since childhood. Fav songs being ‘Meri Bheegi Bheegi si…’ and ‘Chingari Koi Bhadake…’.
    Do try them.

  8. 8 Sreejith November 21, 2007 at 8:07 pm

    amazing!! a couple of days back i was asking everyone where i could find the old classics! after reading this post i feel it must be a universal thing. My fav is ‘”tum aa gaye ho nur aa gaya hai..” and also “Tere bina zindagi se koi shikwa toh nahin..”

    i think the poetry in the lines is what makes these songs so special. A thing of beauty is a joy forever πŸ™‚

  9. 9 Sangfroid November 21, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    Have been listening to them for long! My favs being ‘Neele Neele Amber Par’ and ‘Tere Mere Milan Ki Ye Raina’ πŸ™‚

    Music is a matter of personal taste but I have not heard anyone not appreciate his nos. except one bhaisaab i met during a journey. He seemed to have some personal grudge, went on to criticize RD Burman as well πŸ™‚

  10. 10 Kunal November 22, 2007 at 10:07 am

    Ashish, indeed πŸ™‚

    Krunal, thanks for confirming…

    Rama, now I too have a Kishore Kumar folder πŸ˜€

    Manoj, in childhood Mukesh used to be one of my favourites, but as I grew up Kishore took over the mantle of the best singer. Anyways if you insist I will try his songs again. Although I have always loved his “kisi ki muskurahaton pe ho nisar” from Anari πŸ™‚

    Ankit, Hemant Kumar is again one of my favourites πŸ™‚

    kcp, I am close to completing a quarter century. And you should not worry about the young generation – the comments that you read on this post, all the commentors belongs to the “young generation” πŸ™‚ Thanks for the visit.

    Aniket, I love those songs too. But if I started writing every song that I like of Kishore Kumar then I would have required a post that would run to scores of pages πŸ™‚

    Sreejith, the poetry in the lines are even in some of the songs today, but the magic of Kishore’s voice is missing.

    Sangfroid, you sure would find some people who do not like him. Although I am yet to meet any, but I have met many people who say they prefer Rafi any day over Kishore, but as you say it is a matter of personal taste πŸ™‚

  11. 11 paresh November 22, 2007 at 10:50 am

    how often do you change the theme ? πŸ™‚

  12. 12 Rakesh November 22, 2007 at 11:54 am

    Kishore Da, Rocks, in every sense… take any genre and you will find a masterpiece by him… have always loved his songs…

    A list of my all time favorite Romantic songs.. sung by Kishore Kumar…
    1. Bhool gaya sab kuch..
    2. Dil kya kare.. Jab kisi ko..
    3. Chookar mere man ko ..
    4. Haan Pehli baar..
    5. Mere Mehboob Qayamat hogi..
    6. O Hansini..
    7. O Mere Dil Ke chain..
    8. Pal Pal dil ke paas
    9. Phoolon ke Rang se
    10. Pyaar Manga hai tumhi se..
    11. Tera Mujhse hai Pahle ka Naata Koi.

  13. 13 Himank Sharma November 22, 2007 at 6:43 pm

    Well old classics just dont die at all!! You just can’t imagine Hindi Music without the voice of Kishore Kumar crooning in your ears.. Just love the singing of the guy…
    I agree with ankit too.. I hav heard vry few songs of Hemant Kumar bu tthey sure are something extra ordinary!! πŸ™‚

  14. 14 Kunal November 23, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    Paresh, I change the theme rarely. This one just came out and I applied it as it looks great. Had the text been justified, I would have stuck to it, anyways will shift to K-2 back in a week or two πŸ™‚

    Rakesh, you could go on and on and on and on and on ….. πŸ˜€

    Himank, they both (Kishore Kumar and Hemant Kumar) are awesome πŸ™‚

  15. 15 mythalez November 27, 2007 at 9:41 pm

    I like this theme … puts the focus on the text than anything fancy πŸ˜›

  16. 16 Pankaj Mohan January 16, 2008 at 1:58 am

    Good to see Kishoreda’s legacy moving on into the next generation. It proves good music can never be bound by man-made barriers. I can imagine the joy dudes like Kunal must be having on listening to Kishore’s numbers in a serious way. I was 18 when KK breathed his last in 1987- that too in a very dramatic fashion. Those born during the last 20-25 years should also try to learn about KK’s life and the dramatization he always had around him…..He carried an amazing sense of spontaneity and was simply unstoppable. Btw, many old timers often fight on the issue of Kishore Kumar Vs Mohammed Rafi parallels. Are there any Rafi fans around here? I made the following post to my own blog and got a very nasty remark from a Rafi fan:

    http://proaudience.com/2008/01/kishore-kumar-the-undisputed-king/

    The Indian Express article, “The King Is Not Dead” by Sandipan Deb, that I have referred to is a good read. Read more on KK vs Rafi at the given link:

    http://proaudience.com/2007/12/the-kishore-kumar-vs-mohammed-rafi-saga/

    And if you were about to know how KK and Manna Dey had fun and how they improvised the Padosan song “Ek Chatur Naar”, then please go to the following post and the articles I have mentioned therein:

    http://proaudience.com/2007/12/the-extempore-kishoreda/

  17. 17 mobilemaharaj January 24, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    kishore kumar is a gretes person thank u for giving this

  18. 18 souvik February 29, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Kishore Kumar had entertained the viewers with his multi-talented singing style for more than 30 years. Within that span he was specially indebted to RD Burman who had given him immortal tunes.

  19. 19 Pawan Jalan April 4, 2008 at 5:07 am

    Kishore had a magical ability to modulate his voice to suit the emotion and situation of the song. A classic example is how he modulated his voice for Amitabh for all the songs in Yaarana.

    Pawan Jalan
    MaGaReSa


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 412,393 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


