Reviewed

Jab We Met [Movie]
Brilliant movie – it is a must watch. The characters are realistic and very likeable. This movie directly goes into the list of “Buy DVD asap”. And check out the song “Aao Milo Chalo”, great lyrics and a brilliant rendition by Shaan.
Rating: * * * * *

Johnny Gaddaar [Movie]
This movie reminded me of the James Hadley Chase thrillers, and the director too pays his tribute to the writer. This fast paced thriller is very well crafted and made intelligently.
Rating: * * * *

FearJeff Abbott [Book]
It is an ok-ok psychological thriller. I bought this because the blurb seemed interesting and the first line (I killed my best friend…) was captivating. The book turned out to be one of the longest reads I have had, not in terms of page-count, but in terms of the days the book was lying unfinished on my bookshelf. I took 20+ days to finish this one.
Rating: * *

The Reluctant FundamentalistMohsin Hamid [Book]
Finished this in one sitting; picked it up at around 10 in night, and by 12 I was blown away. It packs a powerful punch, puts your life in perspective. I think people who have stayed in an alien country could empathize with the protagonist, although I would brand him as a rebel. Sreejith, thanks for referring the book.
Rating: * * * 1/2

The Bourne Ultimatum [Movie]
This is a pure popcorn-muncher. Leave the brains at home, do not try to over-rationalize and this movie is great fun. An apt conclusion to the Bourne Trilogy.
Rating: * * * *

TechnoratiTechnorati: , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Reviewed”


  1. 1 Sreejith November 6, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    jab we met is better than Johnny Gaddar? i definitely need to watch it then!

  2. 2 Rakesh November 6, 2007 at 7:56 pm

    Looking back at the movies of Kareena and Shahid’s, I was not at all inerested in jab we met .. but as now you are saying.. I will give it a second thought..

  3. 3 mythalez November 7, 2007 at 4:42 am

    I cant figure out why everyone is praising jab we met :-s ..
    I saw it first in a distracted fashion and slotted it to be another usual girl blabbers – boy silent – journeys together – fall in love story .. but then read the review at http://sayesha.blogspot.com .. and decided to watch it again .. this time I actually liked it .. but still I cant figure out why it needs so many accolades and 5 stars :-s

  4. 4 Kunal November 7, 2007 at 10:26 am

    Sreejith, Johnny Gaddar and Jab We Met are different genres, you cannot compare those two – one is thriller, one is romantic comedy🙂

    Rakesh, go and watch it. I remember you liked Sassy Girl, I’m sure you’ll like this too🙂

    Rama, dude there are reasons for the 5 star rating. The movie stuck some chords that reminded me of ….😀 And thus the 5 stars …

  5. 5 paresh November 7, 2007 at 11:00 am

    personally i liked JG more than JWM. JWM was spoilt for me in the 2nd half. But a good movie nonetheless. I loved JG because it was not just a thriller but it mocked the movies from 70’s esp. the scene where dharmendra dies. The overacting in that scene is deliberate🙂.

    p.s: shouldn’t the title have been reviews instead of reviewed … for a second i felt one of your posts / blog got reviewd by someone (a la “tagged” )

  6. 6 paresh November 29, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    Read Reluctant Fundamentalist, best book i read in recent times🙂

  7. 7 Kunal November 30, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    Paresh, it is “reviewed” only, not “reviews”. I reviewed the movies and the books🙂
    and as I said earlier JWM was special for me for another reason…
    and yeah I would not rate “Reluctant Fundamentalist” as the best book in recent times for me… another book that I am on verge of finishing is staking claim to that .. will write a review as soon as I finish it😛


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 399,741 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


