Technology skeptics

As is usually happens, just before you leave for the day you remember that you have just a ten rupee note in your wallet and the bike is thirsty for petrol. You mentally curse yourself for being careless and move lethargically towards the ATM. Similar careless people have queued up too, and you wish for the people to hurry – but wait, almost everyone who goes in the ATM, gets the money out and coolly proceeds to count each of the 40 notes, right there standing in front of the ATM while it is whistling for you to take the ATM card back and scoot. And the guy (or the gal) would not forget to double-check the count. You’d love to shout, “Move moron move”, but alas a small thing called decency stops you 😡

A lesson for people who do not work on the top floor: there are two buttons when you want to call for an elevator. If you press the button which shows the up-arrow means you want to go up, the button which shows the down-arrow means you want to go down. And if you want go down, why the f*** are you pressing the up button? And if you have no idea what button to use, wait for someone who knows or better – use the stairs, will be good for your cholesterol.

Why the hell do people doubt technology – the ATM will always dispense the right amount, and the elevator will surely come to take you down irrespective of whether you press the up button or not.

11 Responses to “Technology skeptics”


  1. 1 sanyam September 28, 2007 at 8:10 am

    He He. Why do i smell *sniff sniff* frustu !!!

    🙂

    Btw, no matter how educated people are some will still mess with lifts.

    Even inside the lifts people get confused when pressing for a floor.

    Its still alien to me the funda behind pressing 2-3 buttons or pressing the same button multiple times 🙂

    Lift wont move faster to your floor if you press the button hard or 10 times.

  2. 2 pkj September 28, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    maybe the people count notes to see that ATM made a mistake and gave them a bit extra 🙂

  3. 3 pkj September 28, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    btw, .. i am one of those who count 🙂

  4. 4 mythalez September 28, 2007 at 12:57 pm

    and .. what about those who re-total the bill that is produced by the computer at the supermarket? 😛

  5. 5 Ankit September 28, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    still if the ATM has done mistake … they can’t argue with it … they have contact the responsible person. There is no logic behind counting the notes standing in front of the ATM n preventing others from doing their business.

  6. 6 Kunal September 28, 2007 at 3:28 pm

    sanyam, yeah dude.. was damn frustu yesterday.. 🙂 a post is a great stress buster…

    paresh, next time I am standing behind you in the ATM, I’m surely gonna shout 😛

    rama, I remembered those people too but was too tired to write another paragraph 🙂

    ankit, exactly my point… thanks for putting it in a non-frustu way 🙂

  7. 7 Sreejith September 30, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    After people have transferred money to my account online.. they want me to check and tell them if the transaction has come through. This is true of many many people… even the tech savvy ones. They are comfortable with ATM’s but not with online transfers. Probably the line of comfort is different for different people!

  8. 8 ideasmith October 2, 2007 at 2:34 pm

    Errm…I’m actually one of those people you’ve written about. I call myself a techno-greek (because technology is greek to me!). The fact is that I really can’t bring myself to completely trust a machine. I don’t think there has ever been a machine built that was completely bug-free, error-free.

    Yes, it may seem stupid to count the notes from the ATM every single time but there have been instances (few I admit) of wrong denominations or incorrect amounts coming out. Even if the chances are 1 in a million, with my luck, I don’t want to risk being that 1.

    But then again, I seem to have a curious hate-hate relationship with technology…having spent yesterday (among other days) night redoing all of morning’s work that stupid $%^& computer deleted. That’s just me and my machines. Be kind to us..while we try to kill each other. 😉

  9. 9 Kunal October 3, 2007 at 1:07 pm

    Sreejith, you are right about the line of comfort being different for everybody 🙂

    ideasmith, good to know that a top blogger is here 🙂
    and I hope you emerge victorious from your battles with your machine.. and if I may suggest, the best weapon you have to use on a Windows machine is ctrl+alt+del 😛

  10. 10 nipun October 3, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    well, ATM’s dont always work the correct way atleast not for me 😦
    withdrew 100 Rs once to show sm guy how to use it (yeh that’s me the good f***ing samaritan) and before i could grab my note it went back in !! duh …
    so i was short a 100 bucks which took about a week to get re transferred :))
    but i do believe u’ve got a point there, why, people go through like 2-3 transactions before they withdraw anything at all !!

  11. 11 Kunal October 4, 2007 at 12:34 pm

    nipun, you are the first person I know who has had any such case 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 409,090 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


