And I came back defeated

As is usual last week again found me at a bookstore. Although I tend to haunt Odyssey, this time I ventured to Crossword, just because I was in the City Center Mall. I have earlier had a laughable experience there regarding the categorization of books they have, but this time the experience was anything but laughable.

A group of girls was huddled in the front of the ‘Romance’ section, which unluckily was just a shelf away from ‘Indian Authors’ section that I was browsing. And then the cell phone of one of them rings. She lets the entire store know that they have been waiting for the past half an hour for the person on other end to come, and are just doing ‘time-pass at the bookshop’ (her exact words). And then their talks began in earnest. That one shelf of books was no match for the rising crescendo, and the incessant and the loud chatter emanating from the β€˜Romance’ section battered my ears.

I came away with just one book – a rarity for me.

Advice to booklovers: Never visit Crossword Bookstore at City Center Mall, Hyderabad unless you know exactly the book you want to buy. The bored crowd of the Mall congregates there and makes simple book-browsing a very un-enjoyable task.

TechnoratiTechnorati: , ,

9 Responses to “And I came back defeated”


  1. 1 Sreejith August 20, 2007 at 6:42 pm

    Odyssey was rather good to me…they even gave me a corporate discount on producing my id card πŸ™‚

  2. 2 Karan August 20, 2007 at 8:01 pm

    Hmm.. probably that was an unfortunate exp with u.. normally, its not the case with Crosswords, its decent n silent.

  3. 3 Kunal August 21, 2007 at 2:15 pm

    sreejith, odyssey is still very good. and I have been using their corporate discount for the last two years πŸ˜€

    karan, maybe.. but I’d prefer odyssey any day πŸ™‚

  4. 4 mythalez August 21, 2007 at 2:55 pm

    hav u ever tried a small bookshop called akshara in banjara hills?

  5. 5 sumanth August 22, 2007 at 5:07 am

    I love the bookstores here. Dont know if its the same o’er there as well.. with searching for a book on the computer, and lounges where you can still and read books, sipping on great coffee! πŸ˜€ Just love hanging out there..

  6. 6 nipun August 22, 2007 at 10:13 am

    well i had quite an experience everytime i go there… if nothing else than for the hardbound 200/- a piece classics..
    probably a one off for u πŸ™‚

  7. 7 Kunal August 22, 2007 at 11:49 am

    rama, I have tried akshara in Kavuri Hills, don’t know about Banjara Hills.. it left a lot to be desired.. the book collection was not extensive..

    sumanth, good for you πŸ™‚ although it is similar here too …

    nipun, yeah looks like I just had a bad experience.. but two bad experience in two excursions there has put me off Crossword. I’ll stick to Odyssey, no bad experiences in two years (a visit almost every 10-15 days) πŸ™‚

  8. 8 Bala September 25, 2007 at 1:26 pm

    akshara and crossword re brilliant. Oddysey sucks. they sell deodarants more than books. they should rename themselves as odyyssey general stores.

  9. 9 Arindam Moulick August 19, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    Yeah! That kind of problem exists everywhere and in particular in bookstores like Odyssey. I did not yet visit Crossword at City Centre Mall but I surely can decipher, especially the cacophonous gang of girls crowd of the place! They simply have to uselessly “do time pass.” I cannot understand why they have to visit a bookstore and “do time pass”! It sucks to even think of a noise wafting into my ears while I am browsing the books at a bookstore! I like Odyssey and Walden bookstores but now I am really quite excited to land up at Books and Beyond!


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 409,090 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


