How did I learn driving?

Before coming to Hyderabad I had never driven a geared vehicle. I knew the theory, but had failed abysmally at the only practical I had tried before setting foot here (which (the foot, I mean) incidentally celebrated the sixth anniversary of being grounded-firmly-in-Hyderabad yesterday, and it seems highly unlikely that the-set-foot would budge). So it is established now that I was a novice at driving vehicles with gears, so let me carry on with the anecdote.

This took place before the bike-full days, when I was in first year. I was standing at the JNIDB bus stand waiting for 216 or 217 (I do not know if anyone else has noticed this, but don’t the buses come bunched together? For a long time no bus would make an appearance, and suddenly there would be a cameo appearances by multiple buses (I now think Sehwag is inspired by the Hyderabad buses – a series of small scores, and you miss the big knock if you miss half hour of the transmission on that particular day, any of the Sehwag knocks are invariably quick!)) to appear to go to Mehdipatnam. So another fact is established now – that I was waiting for transportation.

All of a sudden, a guy on a scooter stops near me and offers me a lift. Well, don’t look a gift horse in the mouth – soon I was riding pillion on way to Mehdipatnam. We had hardly cleared Gachibowli when he stops and asks me to drive; bewildered as I was, I realized I was at least a kilometer adrift of any bus stop, and to be honest his driving skills had not imparted me any confidence – so that time the only sane option I could think of was to accept his offer of driving and at least get to the next bus stop, Those were my very early days in Hyderabad and I was yet to encounter the wonder called shared-auto. So few stalled starts and many jerks-and-shakes later I was driving, the whole time the weirdo was grinning and humming some song. When he started talking non-stop once he was on the pillion, only then I realized that the guy was drunk. I did not have the heart to leave a drunk on road on a scooter, so I continued driving till Mehdipatnam. To say that it was an adventurous drive would be an understatement. Driving a geared vehicle for the first time in my life and that on an old highway! Thanks to the drunk on the scooter, with my first tryst at serious driving I had conquered the highway πŸ™‚

So if I summarize, I can answer the question in four words – “a drunk helped me”; but I took 438 words… Talk about verbosity πŸ˜›

TechnoratiTechnorati: ,

12 Responses to “How did I learn driving?”


  1. 1 Sreejith July 18, 2007 at 10:22 pm

    wow.. and u never told us about it! My first wasn’t that eventful but it did involve Sam’s scooter and going to the canteen at 3 am with Suman on pillon. There was some 1st gear flying too πŸ˜€ The first times are always fun eh πŸ™‚

  2. 2 Karan July 19, 2007 at 8:13 am

    Nice man..
    Yeah.. d buses come 2gther, and v keep cribbin abt it 😦

  3. 3 skp July 19, 2007 at 11:54 am

    @Unni : Now you see, why I support Beer, one day I might help some Kunal roll on his own wheels

    @Kunal : Abe, that was dangerous :O and ofcourse high time !!

  4. 4 Kunal July 19, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    Sreejith, I don’t know how that incident escaped mention! maybe one of the reasons could be that at that time most of us were strangers to each other and were busy avoiding the “healthy interaction” πŸ™‚
    and luckily I have avoided flying at the low levels πŸ˜€

    Karan, it has been almost three years since I waited for a bus… I feel good πŸ™‚

    skp, lol at reply-to-unni πŸ˜€ and yeah I agree it was dangerous, but I figured better a noob then a dunk…

  5. 5 sumanth July 19, 2007 at 12:32 pm

    woww I was expecting a car when u said geared vehicle.. tht must have been fun! I bet it was much easier cos it was a scooter n not a bike.. maybe! πŸ™‚

  6. 6 alosh July 19, 2007 at 1:06 pm

    Lol! Its as good as someone putting a gun to your head and asking you to learn driving.

  7. 7 nipun July 19, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    lol: i can only hope that you’re adequately grateful that it was a drunk and not smthing else ( sic: ask Jaya about it ) his riding experience leave me in a shiver :shudder:

  8. 8 mythalez July 19, 2007 at 6:57 pm

    why did u post this … out of the blue? wat prompted u?? πŸ˜›

  9. 9 Kunal July 19, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    sumanth, scooter is no way easier then a bike if you have zilch experience with both (which I had πŸ˜€ )

    alosh, it was as bad as that .. not knowing what the scooter or the drunk would do πŸ™‚

    nipun, I remember the Jayaram incident… am so glad it was just a drunk πŸ™‚

    rama, no idea dude… this incident just popped in my head!

  10. 10 Rakesh July 23, 2007 at 1:29 pm

    thought of writing a long comment .. but i think that can be used as a subject for a post … btw mast incident hai πŸ™‚ pahle kabhi nahi bataya iske bare mein ??

  11. 11 chandni July 25, 2007 at 9:50 am

    LOL!

    I am about to start learning how to drive..may be a drunk will help me too πŸ˜€

  12. 12 Kunal July 25, 2007 at 10:52 am

    rakesh, tu hamesha likhta hain ki “you have given me an idea for a post”, par kabhi post likhta nahi hain πŸ™‚ is baar to likh de… and don’t know how this incident escaped mention (shows my life is not an open book πŸ˜‰ )

    chandni, I don’t think a drunk would be a good teacher πŸ™‚ keep the drunk as the last resort πŸ˜€


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

July 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 401,857 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


