Irony

Talk about irony… Anytime I go into my gmail spam folder to check if there are any non-spam mails that have been marked as spam (of which there have been a total of 2 mails in the past 2 years), most of the mails I encounter these days are regarding “obesity” and “getting slim” and “perfect weight”. Going on a tangent, surprisingly these days the perfect-weight spam are out-numbering the “body-parts-enhancement” spam by a huge margin. Seems the spammers’ target audience is changing.

Anyways back to the topic of irony, majority of spam mails are regarding perfect-weight as is apparent in the screenshot.
spam-mail.jpg

But the ads that are displayed in the Web Clips, on top of the messages (in this case on top of the spam messages) those ads are nothing related to losing weight, instead they all would help in gaining weight. All ads are from some recipe site and they use Spam (processed meat) as an ingredient.
spam-ad.jpg

Going on another tangent, yesterday I noticed that Yahoo Mail includes the ads that it displays in the inbox while forwarding any message. So whenever I get any forwarded message from a Yahoo! account, the Yahoo ads are displayed right in my gmail inbox, but the Google ads are blocked by Adblock. Adblock is not able to block the Yahoo ads, as they are now a part of the message. Seems Yahoo! have a sneaky way to earn revenue…


TechnoratiTechnorati: , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Irony”


  1. 1 utkarsh May 16, 2007 at 11:56 am

    lucky people .. gmail at office 😦

  2. 2 Manoj May 16, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    some people like me get lucky over a period of time πŸ˜›

  3. 3 Kunal May 16, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    utkarsh, read majji’s comment … better then anything I could say πŸ™‚ I feel good πŸ˜‰

    manoj, good one πŸ˜€

  4. 4 General Bordeaux May 16, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    mailscanner on students is dead again … i m enjoying 40-50 spams a day …. :p but gmail is awesome .. it filters all these mails and i hv only relevant mail in my inbox ….

  5. 5 Ankit May 17, 2007 at 10:39 am

    dude nice post :D.. and thanks I never knew that spam means processed meat πŸ™‚

  6. 6 Kunal May 17, 2007 at 10:53 am

    GB, gmail sure is awesome .. no problem with any spam! and writing your whole screen name is too much work, so shortening it πŸ™‚

    Ankit, you are most welcome dude … I’ll keep bestowing on you such totally unnecessary knowledge πŸ˜›

  7. 7 kis May 20, 2007 at 8:26 am

    Yepp.. they all are sneaky. Somehow, my gmail seems to get stuffed with online buys et al. I guess I gave my mail id for some online transactions n thts the reason or something..

  8. 8 David Santos May 20, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    Please, it puts fhoto of Madeleine in your Bloggue

    Missing Madeleine!
    Madeleine, MeCann was abduted from Praia da Luz, Portugal on 03/03/07.

    If you have any information, please contact Crimestoppers on
    0800 555 111

    Please Help

  9. 9 Kunal May 21, 2007 at 9:36 am

    Sumanth, it is good that you gave out your gmail id at such a site… mark one of them as spam and the rest would follow… gmail spam filter is a very good learner …

    David, I wish I could help, but sorry I have no information …


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 406,667 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


