Book Review: Bicycle Days – John Burnham Schwartz

Completed Bicycle Days by John Burnham Schwartz. It is a very old book, it was published way back in 1989 – 18 years to date. I had seen the book in a second hand bookstore and bought it, as the premise seemed interesting. I was neither satisfied with the book, nor would I say I was completely dissatisfied.

Some of the parts were genuinely touching and some incidents were very funny, but overall the book left a lot to be desired. The author captured Japan well, but since I recently read Kafka on the Shore (which is authored by a Japanese) I was not too impressed by that part.

It is the story of a fresh college graduate – Alec Stern – who longs to find his place in the world. To meet this end, he runs away from everything that is familiar to him and lands up at a job in Japan. He tries hard to find his place there, and to an extent even succeeds. He excels at work, makes good friends, and carves a niche for himself; he has an independent identity, and still he desires more.

The most interesting part of the book was a bill I found hidden in the pages of the book. The book at that time, in 1989, cost $18.95! I thought books are expensive in India, I am glad now that I do not have to buy books in USA. I would have filed for bankruptcy in no time 🙂


TechnoratiTechnorati: , , ,

2 Responses to “Book Review: Bicycle Days – John Burnham Schwartz”


  1. 1 Shruti May 11, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    Hi, saw ur blog at Blogstreet…
    Nice review for the book…
    Take care..

  2. 2 Kunal May 15, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    thanks Shruti 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

April 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

The 140 Chars

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 409,072 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


