Reading Habits

For the past three years I have been addicted to blogs – be it reading the latest posts or posting new content on this blog. It has become a part of my daily routine, I check my feed aggregator as frequently as I check my inbox. Reading, writing, and commenting have become a normal routine in my life now. This habit has been good; I have expanded my reading genres, have developed interests in new areas, connected with people, and have improved my writing skills. But there has been one major drawback of reading blogs – my interest in books/novels has waned.

Earlier I used to devour books one after another. I remember in my 3rd semester, I had been reading novels with the frequency of at least 3 novels per week. In the four months of that semester, I had polished off more then 50 novels, there was hardly anything left in the college library that I had not read. These days my reading time has reduced drastically. I generally read 1-2 hours daily, before sleeping and frequently nod off while reading. Earlier if I laid my hands on any intriguing novel, I would read right through the night.

The blog-reading has reduced my craving for book reading; I feel I have already read so much today, instead of using more energy, it is better to sleep. It is not as if I have stopped reading books, I am still reading about a novel every week, but the voracious appetite I used to have has deserted me. It is now on weekends when I am without net-access that most of my reading is done.

Times have changed. Books have morphed into blogs, everyone is an author, and everyone is a critic.


TechnoratiTechnorati: , ,

11 Responses to “Reading Habits”


  1. 1 allirekha April 25, 2007 at 8:43 pm

    thats what happens to every good blogger!!!!!!

    i liked ur blog very much!!!!!!!!!!!! n continue the good work. all the best

  2. 2 Himank April 26, 2007 at 1:29 am

    Three novels a week… thats too much… 🙂 and you say reading 1-2 hrs a day is less… Come onn how can you even get so much time…. Dont u ppl do bc aka timepass after you started working… coz as far as i know job takes whole day…

  3. 3 Aniket April 26, 2007 at 3:09 am

    This is a seious problem that even i’m facing. My aptitude for reading novels has come down. Now that I’ve read ur post, it occurs to me that excessive online reading(be it blogs or something else) could be the reason. Will have to see about it.

  4. 4 Karan April 26, 2007 at 9:06 am

    I think thats a very nice article.. I’ve been facin the same problem as aniket and u!

  5. 5 mythalez April 26, 2007 at 2:45 pm

    well .. blogs like urs tell us abt various good books to read .. so its beneficial too 😛

  6. 6 Kunal April 26, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    rekha, thanks for the compliment 🙂

    himank, yeah job does take time, but what better way to unwind then to read a book 🙂 btw you do not need to say “bc aka timepass” … bc was coined by our batch and has been passed down since 😉

    aniket, sometimes it is just better to get offline 🙂

    karan, welcome to the club…

    rama, nice one 😛

  7. 7 Himank Sharma April 26, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    @ Kunal : that ‘aka’ was for readers of this blog who might not be from IIIT and might interpret it as some offensive word 😛

  8. 8 Kunal April 27, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    himank, I totally forgot about that offensive meaning … 😛 bc is now synonymous with timepass only for us … 🙂

  9. 9 Krunal Dave May 18, 2007 at 8:25 am

    Yesterday, When I was reading “Who will cry, When you Die?” from Robin Sharma; There was specific chapter belong to your post.

    He was pointing out count your small number of minutes into large hours at the end of year behind travelling in Bus or Train. By investing little time behind reading you can create MOBILE UNIVERSITY by ownselves….

  10. 10 Kunal May 18, 2007 at 9:38 am

    Krunal, an interesting thought …. but alas, not all could follow this, people like me who drive to work or anywhere rarely spend any time in bus/train, if any. The commute is not a time where I can read, I need to steal time from some other place to satiate this reading habit 🙂


  1. 1 The Reluctant Fundamentalist « Daily dose of delirium Trackback on July 12, 2007 at 10:12 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

April 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 411,531 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


