A Talk with a Stranger

Sometimes it is just so easy to open up to a total stranger. You may not be able to talk about some issues to your friends and family for some reason, maybe they do not understand your point of view; but all you need is a sounding board. Someone who just listens to you, maybe does not even reply, just giving words to your thoughts sometimes helps a lot.

Few days back while coming back to Hyderabad from Bangalore, I was the sounding board. The guy sitting beside me seemed to be going through a confusing period in his life. We got talking and within the hour I knew all details of his current life and the surrounding confusions. I rarely opened my mouth apart from the frequent grunts and occasional words. The guy is not happy with his work, although he is earning handsomely, wants to dabble in the creative field, but is afraid as he has some prior financial commitments. He says he dreams of being an RJ, but does not have the guts the leave the financial security.

Once he started he told me about all his dreams, his aspirations, the roadblocks on his path, the problems he is facing, he used the choicest of words to describe his boss and explained in detail about his work. He talked about his professional life, he talked about his personal life, and he even told me the issues he was having with his girlfriend. He did not spare any details – he just kept on talking. I did not offer him any advice, neither did he ask for any. I hope that having a sounding board helped him and he has sorted out all the issues he was having, and has got his life back on track. Even though I know I may never meet him again, I wish him all the best and I’ll live under the delusion that I helped that guy, and made his life better.


TechnoratiTechnorati: , ,

6 Responses to “A Talk with a Stranger”


  1. 1 derek April 23, 2007 at 8:43 pm

    i have done this many a time
    i open my self to complete strangers
    and let it all go
    it actually is quite releasing
    you one of the many people who listen
    probably saved his life in some way
    just because you listened
    thats how i met my new gf
    i just opened up and let go
    she grew on me and she is their to listen
    i say thanx to you for all who suffer

  2. 2 mythalez April 24, 2007 at 12:15 am

    Sometimes, you just need someone to listen, without being judgemental or acting as any kind of counsellor or advisor. Sometimes, u just need an understanding ear 🙂 😛

  3. 3 kis April 24, 2007 at 11:00 am

    Hehe.. makes sense. Since you dont know him and the chances tht you would meet him is like 0, he wud be kinda sure that you wudnt judge him and even if you did, it wudnt matter !! 😉 And you diddd help him.. aint any delusion !!

  4. 4 Kunal April 24, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    derek, thanks for the comment and the visit 🙂

    rama, totally agree 🙂

    sumanth, hope it is not a delusion … 😉

  5. 5 paurong April 24, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    very strange. keep up the good works!

  6. 6 Imtiaz April 27, 2007 at 5:42 am

    Do you ever wonder, what would you say if you were talking to a stranger in such detail…i hope he found a bit of himself while talking to you : )


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

April 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 401,921 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


