Enjoy the Cricket!

Now that my predictions have gone wider then the wide bowled by Harmison to kick-start the Ashes-’06, I’ll desist from making any more predictions. It seems that my career as an astrologer is predictably doomed.

After India’s exit, I told everybody, “Mera cricket par se vishwas uth gaya hain…” in true filmy style! I was sulking so badly that I changed the channel as soon as any cricketer’s ad came on and I even gave the Aus-SA match a miss (friends later told me, much to my dismay, that I missed one of the better matches of the WC).

Now that I am back to watching cricket again, and since India is out, I am not doing fanatical mathematical calculations in my head, I am not concentrating on the what-if scenarios, not thinking what would happen if SL loses or SA wins or NZ ties! After ages I am enjoying cricket, I am not afraid that Tendulkar or Dravid or Ganguly would get out. I am not fervently praying before every ball that Agarkar or Zaheer or Munaf pick up a wicket!

I am rooting for cricket now, not any specific team! I just want to watch good cricket, which I am getting in plenty… Oram’s spell against WI was superlative, Lara’s knock against Australia showed why he is the best, Sarwan’s throw to run out Ponting, Lara’s right hand pick up and throw to run out Fleming, McCullum’s catch, Malinga’s 4 wickets in 4 balls, Vaas bowling AB de Villiers with arguably the best ball of the tournament!

Now that I have made my point on being unbiased, will someone go and please defeat Australia! They are ruining the WC ala Federer… We need a Guillermo Canas.

TechnoratiTechnorati: , , ,

8 Responses to “Enjoy the Cricket!”


  1. 1 utkarsh March 30, 2007 at 5:43 pm

    totally with you on this πŸ™‚
    Cricket is fun now .. no more worried faces but just happy smiles πŸ™‚

    And I guess there are not many teams that can beat australia to the WC this time, SA definitely can’t .. We need NZ or england to reach semis .. even SL might cause an upset πŸ™‚ .. i would love that upset if that happens .. or poetically put .. i won’t be so upset over that upset .. πŸ˜€

  2. 2 Karan March 31, 2007 at 8:04 am

    Nice post. Watch out, I predict that SA will defeat Aus πŸ˜€
    And yeah, Lara’s not the best, its Ponting πŸ˜€

  3. 3 Manoj March 31, 2007 at 9:25 am

    I am really looking forward for Aus vs SL.
    hope think Murali,Malinga/Vaas will screw AUS πŸ™‚

    Go SL!!!

  4. 4 Himank March 31, 2007 at 5:09 pm

    Whatever might have happened in the SA n Aus match.. I think SA is the only team which can match Aus . Other teams can manage to beat Aus on sheer brilliance of a player but SA is the team to beat Aus….

  5. 5 kis March 31, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    So true. I hope bangladesh beats Aus again πŸ˜‰ !!

  6. 6 Kunal April 2, 2007 at 2:01 pm

    utkarsh, I think SA can defeat Aussies.. they are my major hope apart from SL… and “poetically put” was good πŸ˜€

    karan, hope your prediction is right …. and we can go on with the discussion of who is best.. my pick – still Tendulkar πŸ™‚

    Manoj, yeah Aus vs SL is going to be one helluva match … waiting for 16th april! even I am rooting for SL…

    himank, you are forgetting the recent NZ-Aus series… that was no brilliance of one guy.. it was total team effort πŸ™‚

    sumanth, well your hopes were dashed… 😦 .. but I do hope someone else defeat them, esp in semifinal or final …

  7. 7 Rakesh April 2, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    Gande log … abhi bhi cricket ki baatein kar rahe ho 😦

  8. 8 Kunal April 3, 2007 at 4:33 pm

    rocky, ab tension mat le aur cricket dekh πŸ™‚


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 414,039 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


