Bird Affairs

On my recent trip to Sunderbans I clicked numerous photographs of birds. Although some of them came out well, but I was mostly dissatisfied with the end results. But having compromised on zoom & lens in favour of size, I cannot complain. And I had no idea I would be bit by the photography bug.

But even with a powerful zoom, bird photography is not easy. First of all you have to spot the bird, and given its size and excellent camouflage it is a mean task. Once you have spotted the bird, any sudden movements have to be avoided and forget about getting close (and by close I mean 30+ feet). And then taking the photograph of that tiny bird that would disappear in a second if you make any unwanted sound or movements. (It has happened with me, I just stooped to get a better angle and the bird flew off)

I am still trying to capture one good high-resolution photograph of any bird, and till now I have not tasted success. With my simple point-and-shoot camera, I doubt I would be able to get such a photograph, but I can always dream!

Peacock

Catching the last rays

TechnoratiTechnorati: , ,

3 Responses to “Bird Affairs”


  1. 1 mythalez March 27, 2007 at 4:19 am

    u r seriously into photography now!!
    maybe u shud start another photoblog .. and let this blog hav some of ur writings as earlier 😛

  2. 2 alosh March 27, 2007 at 10:04 am

    good pics! dont remember seeing the peacock in your sunderbans collection. i think birds come with inbuilt camera detectors 😀

  3. 3 Kunal March 27, 2007 at 10:23 am

    rama, maintaining another blog is too much work! I’d rather have just one blog… and anyways I have not stopped writing, it is just that photography has caught my fancy these days… the writings here would not stop 🙂

    alosh, that peacock is not from the Sunderbans collections. the peacock & the bird on the wire, both are Hyderabadi… 🙂 Taken at KBR…
    and yeah birds surely seem to have an inbuilt camera detector ..


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 406,842 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


