Hyderabad Traffic Cops

Incident 1:
I am approaching the traffic signal at Indira Park Circle, I see the lights are green, but by the time I reach the signal the lights turn orange. So I stop, few irate drivers behind me show their displeasure, while the other drivers beside me ignore the orange and move on till the signal turns red one second later. A cop saunters over, asks me to move to the side of the road and promptly checks all my papers.

Incident 2:
Just the location changes, this time it is Masab Tank Circle. Same story, I stop as the signal is orange, the traffic cop walks over, I again produce all my papers.

And these two incidents were separated by just 3 days.

After these incidents I thought I would not stop when the signal is orange, and since then the cops have not stopped me once, even if I am going through when the signal is orange – although ideally I should stop.

This leads me to a simple conclusion, that my papers were checked only because I was following rules and hence I looked the suspicious type! The normal person does not follow rules to the letter, and hence anyone who follows rules must be hiding something and so must be checked.

So I’ll stop being ideal and would not follow the rules to the letter. If the light is orange I’ll Be Alert but would cross the signal.

Bah! Traffic cops, who are supposed to make people follow the rules, have compelled a rule-following guy to switch to the other side.

TechnoratiTechnorati: , ,

7 Responses to “Hyderabad Traffic Cops”


  1. 1 Harsh March 21, 2007 at 7:57 pm

    Heh, guess being good stands out these days, where people all around you aren’t so.

  2. 2 mythalez March 22, 2007 at 5:07 am

    lol .. obv u wud look suspicious stopping for an orange light in hyd !!
    cops r more concerned abt suspicious elements like u than normal simple rule breakers. 😛

  3. 3 Karan March 22, 2007 at 11:17 am

    i agree with mythalez!!

  4. 4 Rakesh March 22, 2007 at 11:19 am

    Orange Signal !! Woh Kya hota hai 😉 hyderabad mein to red bhi nahi dekhte log ..

  5. 5 Kunal March 22, 2007 at 11:51 am

    Harsh, so true….

    Rama, 😀

    Karan, now me too 🙂

    Rakesh, ab main bhi yahi sawaal karunga 🙂

  6. 6 playboi March 22, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    i remember seeing a traffic light at a busy road in hyd, where the traffic used to move ONLY when the light was RED and would stop when it was green .. i SWEAR

  7. 7 iHateHyd September 6, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    Huh? Am I missing something? Orange means “prepare to stop” — except in UK and Canada.


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 411,465 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


