Chhattisgarh

Paresh sent me a link from Times Now in which they cover Tourism in Chhattisgarh. Being a relatively new state, Chhattisgarh is not developed. Even today about 1/3rd of population of Chhattisgarh is tribal. With just one city (Raipur) the economy is largely driven by agriculture and few industries. Tourism can be a huge boost to the Chhattisgarh economy, but till now it is lying dormant.

The Chhattisgarh landscape is still unexplored; this is the biggest selling point. There has been no commercialization in the name of tourism – this would surely deter the people who dislike adventures, and want everything arranged, but for people interested in adventure tourism Chhattisgarh is the place to be. One place I would strongly suggest is the Chitrakote Waterfalls, the biggest waterfall in India – in terms of amount of water, not the height (Photographs from Google and Flickr). I have had the experience of seeing the waterfalls inside out (I was an over-zealous kid and had plunged into the falls and was plucked out by Dad just before falling down the drop), and trust me – it is beautiful šŸ™‚

With a forest cover of 44% Chhattisgarh offers a very rich bio-diversity. But since the National Forests & Wildlife Sanctuaries are not commercialized the safety is an issue. I have spent two nights in one of the Wildlife Sanctuaries, and we were instructed not to go outside the hut we were staying in at night. For me it was an adventure, I love being a part of the nature, but some other people with me were scared badly.

But the joy of exploring, rather then being led around far outweighs the minor obstacles you would face while discovering Chhattisgarh. Go on, visit my state Chhattisgarh – you would not be disappointed.

TechnoratiTechnorati: , , ,

4 Responses to “Chhattisgarh”


  1. 1 Rakesh March 18, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    Oye hamein kab bula rahe ho ??

  2. 2 Kunal March 20, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    jaise hi mera bhai shaadi ke liye haa kah de šŸ™‚

  3. 3 dan miles October 8, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    Hi, I am interested in finding more about Chhatisgarh, I am going to India for the second time on October 22nd flying to Mumbai,I thought I might spend a few days there and then travel accross India through Maharastra, Chattisgarh and over to Calcutta. i am a bit worried about Malaria and don’t know if my Hindi will be good enough in such an underdeveloped place, but it fascinates me all the same. what do you think of this idea and do ou have any recommendations or advice for me, look forward to hearing from you Dan Miles

  4. 4 ashoksharma November 14, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    Hi friend
    Nice to see this blog here


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The 140 Chars

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 412,318 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


