A, D, G, J, M, P, T, W

A, D, G, J, M, P, T, W

These may be the most used letters for naming the websites/home-pages for the startups coming up. The reason for it is simple enough – most startups are targeting mobiles in a big way and these letters are the easiest to type in any normal cell-phone keypad (I am not considering the Qwerty keyboard as normal in cell-phones).

Yesterday I was playing around with a friend’s cell-phone which had GPRS/WAP activated, and trying to access Yahoo! and Gmail had a big difference. Typing Yahoo took 12 keystrokes with some waiting between the two ‘o’s; whereas typing gmail took 9 keystrokes without waiting. Not a huge difference, you would say – but given that the website makes an effect on the user in initial 50 milliseconds (yes, you read it right – 50 milliseconds [BBC Report]) this minor difference of 4-5 keystrokes can be considered huge. And the only way to earn revenue is by building an appreciable customer base – why take a chance over such a trifle thing as the name of website; but then is the name that trifle – you could lose a customer over his laziness to type out the name.

I may be very wrong, but then what use this blog would be if I do not put out my neck once in a while 😛 Shoot me people!

TechnoratiTechnorati: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “A, D, G, J, M, P, T, W”


  1. 2 mythalez January 10, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    hmm .. wat abt having a proper english word has the website name .. for ppl who have and use the word auto-complete feature in their phones ? 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 409,129 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


