Power!

Recently I had a small whiff of power.

I was on my way back from office waiting at the Cyber Tower Junction when a traffic-policeman walks up to me and asks me for a lift. I ask where, he names a place on my way back, so I ask him to hop on. I knew that at that time of the evening the traffic would be crawling – to put it mildly, and had prepared myself mentally for the back-breaking drive ahead. What I had not anticipated was having a guy who had the authority to control the traffic and was willing enough to enforce his will from the rear-seat of a bike.

After some time I noticed that the traffic seemed to be thin; I had covered almost double the distance I would have covered on any normal day. I was congratulating myself for such a prudent choice of time, and decided to check the time. This slight sideways movement enabled me to watch the spirited gesticulation of the pillion-riding cop. With apt strategic setting of the left rear view mirror I was able to follow the whole show of controlling traffic from the rear-seat. He puts up a hand to the left, the traffic from left stops; he puts up a hand on the right, the traffic from right stops. The cop paved a way for himself and hence for me till his destination.

On one hand I was feeling good that the stretch that takes me 20-25 minutes, I covered in hardly 15 minutes, but on the other hand I felt bad, really bad. I always had a complaint when the cops stopped traffic, so that any important person can pass, I used to curse them. This time, being on the other side, gave me a heady whiff of power; but I also felt very ashamed of myself. I did not ask the cop to manipulate traffic, but neither did I stop him.

6 Responses to “Power!”


  1. 1 summu December 22, 2006 at 5:02 am

    Hmm.. so it was a presidential limo ride in a bike huh 😉 Its an experience

  2. 2 sandeep December 24, 2006 at 11:22 pm

    good for u that u gave lift in a traffic filled road..i once gave lift to a cop on a very empty road and couldnt drive above 50 thinking that the cop might charge me for overspeeding 😛

  3. 3 Kunal December 26, 2006 at 4:34 pm

    sumanth, yeah it was 🙂

    sandeep, rofl 😀

  4. 4 SV December 27, 2006 at 4:53 pm

    A magic wand over Hyderabadi traffic? I’d say, enjoy!

  5. 5 Swapna January 27, 2007 at 10:42 am

    You couldn’t have really done anything to stop him – so you might as well enjoy yourself. 🙂


  1. 1 DesiPundit » Archives » Power Trackback on December 22, 2006 at 6:46 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 409,129 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


