Small feature required in Google Reader

Google Reader has improved – now that would be a tautological statement. I have finally shifted all my feeds from Bloglines to Reader, but I sorely miss one feature of Bloglines.

Check these two images, they are images of the same feed in Bloglines and Google Reader.

Feed in Google Reader
Feed in Google Reader

Feed in Bloglines
Feed in Bloglines

Click on the images for larger size

They are almost the same, except for one small thing. In Bloglines feed, the category chosen by the author/writer is shown, whereas it is not displayed in Google Reader. The category being shown is especially useful when the feed is of Blog-Filters like Desipundit. There are so many posts linked to by DP that knowing the category helps a lot in filtering the posts.

Google introduced labels in Blogger Beta, hope they start showing those labels in the Reader.

TechnoratiTechnorati: , , ,

3 Responses to “Small feature required in Google Reader”


  1. 1 summu November 17, 2006 at 1:48 am

    Google sure would ! 😀 It always that I make a wish for a feature in gmail and they come up with that in the New Features in sometime. They are doing a really good job considering that its only 9000 people working ! 🙂

  2. 2 Rakesh November 17, 2006 at 2:37 pm

    Yup .. I agree with Summu… Google is like a mind reader at its best .. one thinks of a possible change and sooner or later its there in their products…

    just wait for the new upgrade of google reader.

  3. 3 Kunal November 17, 2006 at 4:25 pm

    sumanth, rakesh … I agree… Invariably the feature you think of, or you need is provided by Google…


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

November 2006
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 404,613 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


