Chemistry

Chemistry for me had always been a nightmare. I could never get the hang of reactions, the atomic interactions and I especially detested the Periodic Table. Chemistry was, and still is, the stuff of nightmares.

I was a pretty good student of Mathematics and Physics, but the classes of Chemistry would usually find me dozing, surprisingly at no fault of the teacher. Almost all of my Chemistry teachers were very good who generally maintained an interesting class, yet the subject would put me to sleep.

In the Chemistry practical exam, I was given a mixture and I had to find the components. I tried all the experiments I knew and zilch was the result. I tried to convince the lab attendant that I had been given some obscure, yet to be discovered compound to which he snickered & guffawed and I was left with nada again. One of my close friends, Gaurav, took pity on me, did some quick experiments and told me the composition. A heartfelt thanks later, I discovered a major problem – I had to write down the whole experiment and submit it – On Paper!. I had no clue what chemicals Gaurav had used, what reactions had taken place, was the colourless liquid in brown bottle an acid or a base, and was I supposed to heat the mixture, or was I supposed to pass that filthy smelling gas through it? A pssst and a nudge later Gaurav was few feet from me and that day my auditory senses were tested to the hilt. Every whisper was duly copied and pasted down on the examination paper. Thanks to Gaurav, I passed that examination.

I was so happy to have left Chemistry behind, and would take sadistic pleasure on seeing people studying it; but now I am truly sorry for them, I really pity them. Only because of this:

chemistry.gif
Courtesy: NY Times

After this makeover of the Periodic Table goes through, a new side-effect of studying Chemistry would soon emerge: Vertigo. The going round and round to study the elements would surely be spinning quite a few heads – literally and metaphorically, both.

I pity the new Chemistry students.

TechnoratiTechnorati: , ,

13 Responses to “Chemistry”


  1. 1 sumanth October 28, 2006 at 4:11 am

    I share your nightmares. It seems Chemistry and Mathematics are orthogonal 😉

  2. 2 sumanth October 28, 2006 at 4:13 am

    I share your nightmare. My Math Prof once told me Chemistry and Mathematics are orthogonal it seems 😉

  3. 3 sumanth October 28, 2006 at 4:13 am

    I amnt able to post comments :((

  4. 4 Kunal October 28, 2006 at 4:21 am

    test

    sumanth, problem solved… your comments were being marked as spam 🙂

  5. 5 karanmaroo October 28, 2006 at 7:46 am

    i cant believe that thats a periodic table :O

  6. 6 Manoj October 28, 2006 at 8:47 am

    I had lots of funny experinces in chemistry during 12th class. I will narrate one of them

    It so happened that we 2 guys(me + sitanshu) were the only 2 guys seriously preparing for JEE. Now we came to know of a “Organic a-protic solvent” (forgot its name) that used to speed up the Sn1 reactions.

    Just to waste time in the class, we asked our Chemistry teacher how to prepare that chemical.

    Now it happens that the next day she comes into the class furiously and starts enquiring/scolding about why we needed that information :)))

    Looking at her mood we both give in and tell her what
    the chemical was and why we were asking about it.
    She goes calm…
    After the class ends sitnashu asks the reason for her getting so desperate about it, She then tells that chemical is widely used drug in US which can be prepared at home…
    She suspected that both of us were…:))

  7. 7 vibhor October 30, 2006 at 5:40 pm

    thats why i didnt take science in my 11 th class..
    chemistry shakes my brain..

  8. 8 Sreejith October 31, 2006 at 2:05 pm

    That periodic table is really scary! No wonder we were all in IIIT which didn’t have a chemistry paper in the entrance 😀

  9. 9 Kunal November 2, 2006 at 11:06 am

    sumanth, your math prof was surely intelligent and humourous 😀

    karan, believe it …

    manoj, knowing you, I do not blame your teacher for suspecting 😉 …

    vibhor, an intelligent choice 😐

    sreejith, very scary!

  10. 10 summu November 26, 2006 at 5:23 am

    rofl. My comments are being reported as spam. wow 😛

  11. 11 Niketa June 14, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    hey buddy,
    so write quite good. Enjoyed reading your blogs

  12. 12 Niketa June 14, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    *you write so good 🙂
    got d link by a frnd.. maza aaya..


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 406,842 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


