Sporty Love Affairs

First it was Pete Sampras, this year Michael Schumacher is doing it, and some years down the line Sachin Tendulkar would repeat the whole thing.

In 2002, my love affair with Tennis ended. Sampras left the game and so did my desire to watch tennis. The charms it had once exuded on me had ceased to be effective. The booming serves, the cross-court winners, the baseline rallies, the gorgeous drop-shots, the deceptive down-the-line winners, and the tantalizing net-chord balls – once these had me in raptures, now they are just some tennis terms. The love for tennis flares up now and then, but then it is just infatuation – I would find something more interesting almost immediately. Tennis, for me, was synonymous with Sampras. Sampras retired and took away my love for the game with him.

Now Schumacher is doing it. I fell in love with F1 to fill the void tennis had left. But as love-veterans would no doubt suggest you, a bounce-back relationship never works. My affair with F1 is on its last stage, come October 22 F1 too would recede to the once-important album of my life. I had hoped Schumacher would end his career with the Driver’s Championship, but a stupid stupid engine failure at Suzuka yesterday has almost wiped out any chances of that. Now hoping that Schumacher ends his career (and my on-and-off love affair with Formula1) with a win at Sao Paulo, Brazil akin to Sampras (US Open 2002).

The one love that has been with me for years now, actually over a decade, has been Cricket, and only Sachin Tendulkar is responsible for it. Remember the Australia’s annihilation at Sharjah in ’98, and the tight last over to South Africa, and the dance down the pitch and dispatching Shane Warne to the stands, and the upper cut off Shoaib Akhtar in WC-03, and the pulled six recently in Malaysia, and the amazing catch at boundary rope to stop Inzamam, and the way he hooked Caddick for a six, and the drive through off-side when McGrath had it packed with 6 fielders… Sachin is, and will always epitomize Cricket. Some years down the lane, whenever Sachin retires, another of my sporty-love-affairs would come to an end.

Now I understand, why my father lost his interest in Cricket once Kapil Dev retired.

TechnoratiTechnorati: , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Sporty Love Affairs”


  1. 1 karanmaroo October 9, 2006 at 9:58 pm

    sachin’s shots were captured beautifully by u..

  2. 2 teja October 9, 2006 at 11:17 pm

    true ….very true….how i wished schumi to win man…..the possibility of a fairytale ending is very bleak now, but lets hope GOD has something in store at sao paulo ….

  3. 3 mythalez October 10, 2006 at 2:31 am

    yeah … its the ppl who make the sport interesting .. not the sport itself.

  4. 4 Spartan October 10, 2006 at 11:02 am

    dude ..
    Would the same thing happen to us when Sachin retires ????

  5. 5 playboi October 10, 2006 at 11:22 am

    awesomely written!!!

  6. 6 Kunal October 10, 2006 at 6:17 pm

    karan, thanks šŸ™‚

    teja, keeping my fingers crossed…

    rama, exactly! watching sports is interesting as long as the people who play make it watchable… playing the sport yourself is altogether different šŸ™‚

    spartan, I think so …. šŸ˜¦

    playboi, thanks man šŸ™‚

  7. 7 Sreejith October 31, 2006 at 1:35 pm

    Sampras, Schumacher and Sachin. You have pretty much covered my A list of heroes šŸ™‚ And well written as usual.

  8. 8 Himank Sharma November 23, 2007 at 3:37 am

    I intended to comment on this post when u published it… but for some reason couldnt… so I am here again after going through your whole archive of 3 and half year…
    Well the three people you have mentioned here are just the Gods for very sport lover… agreed Fedex is unbeatable and unbelievable but he is nowhere close to Sampras…he wassssssss just awesome.. I dont think anybody can match the aura of Schumacher in near future
    And about Sachin, there is nothing which I can write which will do justice to what I feel for him, for me Cricket is Sachin , Sachin is Cricket… No doubts about the fact that he is my God… I dont know whether i will have even 10% of interest in Cricket once he retires!! Even now when he doesnt play in any game, my interest is reduced manifolds!! Lets hope that day doesnt come, though we cant stop the wheels of time from going ahead.. but cricket can’t afford to lose his charisma.


  1. 1 DesiPundit » Archives » Sporty Love Affairs Trackback on October 11, 2006 at 1:26 am
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 401,857 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


