To bring out the best…

… get injured!

I have been playing (Cricket, Badminton, Table-Tennis, Football, Volleyball, you-name-it…) for whole of my life. My earliest memories comprise of playing a cricket-match with my brother in a 10×8 room. At best I can claim to be average, and sometimes above average, in all my sporting endeavours; I have never been Tendulkar-esque, or even Dravid-esque, or for that matter not even Kaif-esque. No claims to glory 😦 But one thing I can claim with conviction – sports injuries!

Injuries generally mean time-out, but me being a sports-maniac, injuries have never deterred me. If I have one hand, or one leg functional I will most probably be on field. And I have noticed one peculiar thing when playing with an injury. I play better, not just having-a-good-day better, but whoa-wth-happened better. My performance improves by leaps and bounds and suddenly I am a force to reckon 😉

I think it was 1997, when I broke my right-hand index finger. I was playing badminton doubles and my partner instead of hitting the shuttlecock hit my finger. That time I did not know that I had 207 bones instead of the customary 206 and carried on the game ignoring the searing pain. The subtlety of the drop-shots I hit that day still reminds that I had the potential to beat Gade 😛

Then during a Volleyball match in 2000, I scraped my left hand badly, the whole left palm had almost no skin left and for about 15-20 days I played with a bandage wrapped around my left hand. The spikes I hit during that period had immense power and almost all of them were precise, and all this when I had just one hand functional. Friends were ecstatic to see such form from my side, but the bandages came off and so did my form. Have never hit a powerful spike since then 😦

And recently, while playing football, I was better on the days when I played with a sprained ankle. I was passing perfectly, I was at the appropriate spots to take the passes, I was pouncing on the loose-balls with more ferocity, and I was playing a much smoother game then I have ever played.

Injuries seem to unleash some hidden talent in me. The injuries, the deterrents bring out the best in me.

So now you know, if I am not playing well, injure me 😉

4 Responses to “To bring out the best…”


  1. 1 Manoj September 27, 2006 at 7:38 pm

    Oh man.. how I wished I knew this before… I wud have
    broken a keyboard or 2 on your head when you played quake/cs. 🙂

    btw… whenare we meeting again.

  2. 2 kopos September 28, 2006 at 9:37 am

    o chi mastaah, u reveal us way for infinite energy. injuries free up the chi energy from your power points and make you invincible. we will make accident more you mastah.

  3. 3 Sreejith October 3, 2006 at 9:34 pm

    The immense powers of the human body are chained by the limitations of the mind. You transcend these barriers when you let your mind loose. so basically you have lost your mind 😀

  4. 4 Kunal October 4, 2006 at 3:09 pm

    manoj, donno about the keyboard, but you sure did lots of friendly fire during the games 🙂 does that not count for anything? and yeah will try to meet soon …

    kopos, I am happy being an average player 😉

    sreejith, now you observe that one of your good friends has lost his mind! dude you have known me for many years now, you should have observed that earlier… tchh tchh, I expected more 😛


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 404,613 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


