Am I paranoid?

Am I getting paranoid? Am I the only guy who notices that Rahul Dravid has not said a word about Tendulkar’s innings in yesterday’s match? No words of praise, no acknowledgment of the mastery of that knock. I hope India does not go back to that period again, when Tendulkar alone used to face the attack, and others fell like a house made of pack-of-cards.

Lara acknowledges Tendulkar’s knock:

He saved the best for last, waxing eloquent when asked about Tendulkar’s 65, the defining innings of the match. “Sachin is a very good friend of mine,” he said when asked whether he was disappointed to be at the receiving end once again. “If he scores runs, it is attractive, a sight to behold. I want my players to learn from a guy like that, he’s an exceptional talent.

“Seeing him bat, there’s not much you can do sometimes. He is such a perfect batsman that on occasions, you see guys struggle and he does not. I’m happy that he has come back and is scoring runs because such a great player needs to come to the fore. I don’t know if he has any doubters in India, but there’s definitely not a doubt here. It’s nice to see him come back and show his class. I want to see him do that on Friday as well.”

Either Dravid genuinely forgot to mention Sachin’s contribution or a Sachin contribution is so common-place that it does not warrant any acknowledgement or I am paranoid…

TechnoratiTechnorati: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Am I paranoid?”


  1. 1 Manoj September 21, 2006 at 2:29 pm

    its ok…..
    Dravid is dravid and not ganguly… I guess he forgot because of the high drama in the 2nd innings.

    I like what LARA said…”He is such a perfect batsman that on occasions, you see guys struggle and he does not.”

  2. 2 paresh September 21, 2006 at 2:56 pm

    I dont think it affects Sachin … what Dravid, Lara or whoever think about him ? and neither should you.

  3. 3 Vivek September 21, 2006 at 3:20 pm

    Who knows, it might be the same phenomenon that restricted Gawaskar from Praising Kapil in the good olden days 🙂 (As told by my dad)

  4. 4 Rakesh September 22, 2006 at 1:43 pm

    Doesnt matter actually !! Sachin is beyond all these things.

  5. 5 Kunal September 22, 2006 at 4:13 pm

    manoj, you are right, Dravid is not Ganguly 🙂

    paresh, I know it would not effect Sachin, just that it was a huge omission on Dravid’s part

    vivek, Gavaskar-Kapil saga was way different (afaik) and anyways Dravid does seem to be more humble then any other captain.

    rakesh, as long as India keeps winning, nothing matters to me 😀


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 411,531 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


