Hyderabad

Few days back I saw this article in rediff, it lists out the 5 things to do while visiting Hyderabad. It comprises of the normal stuff – Pearls, Biryani, Ramoji Film City, Chudi Bazaar and Charminar, Golconda et al. While I do not dispute their prominence to any tourist visiting Hyderabad, but for me – who has started his 6th year in Hyderabad – these things hold scant importance, if any (except the Biryani at Paradise).

So I compiled my own list of things to do in Hyderabad. I am aiming for five points, lets see how many can I come up with.

  1. Eat Street: Sitting beside the Hussain Sagar, with cool breeze caressing you, and a multitude of eating options to choose from; for me this is the best place in Hyderabad. Get down from the MMTS at Necklace Road Station, cross the road and enjoy the food with a view.
  2. Durgam Cheruvu: Also known as the Secret Lake – this lake tucked away in the depths of Madhapur provides tranquility amidst the multi-billion dollar transactions going on a stone’s throw away. An advice: do not visit in evening; the road adjacent to it will be packed with vehicles. Best time to visit Durgam Cheruvu is late night. And do not miss the Tea from the cart that stands opposite Cyber Gateway.
  3. Tilak Road on Sunday or M.R. Book Stores at Punjagutta or Frankfurt Book Store near Odyssey: The books you would find at these obscure second hand bookshops defy imagination. On Sundays, the entire Tilak Road, near Abids, is swarmed with vendors selling books – no categorization of books, keep searching through them till you get tired or find some gem tucked underneath. Generally an armful of books would cost hardly 100 bucks. M.R. Book Stores & Frankfurt Book Store are bigger second hand book shops, books are categorized properly and are a tad expensive then the Tilak Road books – but here too the sheer number of books is mind-boggling.
  4. Drive around KBR National Park: Do this once and I am sure you would wish for one more drive. The minute you enter the roads surrounding KBR National Park, you can feel a marked drop in temperature. The roads curve around the National Park, with varying degrees of slopes. It is a roller-coaster drive with you being in control all the time. Again the same advice – best time to visit is late night. Do not go on these roads in evening unless you want to be swathed in dust and smoke.
  5. Ice Cream at Mozamjahi Market: Ahead of Nampally, you would find Mozamjahi Market. Look for Karachi Bakery (the taste of Fruit Biscuits of Karachi Bakery cannot be described – you have got to taste it), opposite Karachi Bakery; you can easily find two ice cream shops housed in a building of the 19th century architecture. I do not remember the names of the ice cream shops, but I can still feel the taste tingling my tongue. I have never had better ice cream, at a cheaper price. No ice cream costs more then 15 bucks and at 15 bucks you get three slices of different flavours along with fresh fruits and jelly – Tutty Fruity is simply lip smacking. Another favourite has been the Kulfi – I think it costs 8 rupees.
  6. Kachoris @ General Bazaar
  7. Chowmohalla Palace

Did I miss any spot?

TechnoratiTechnorati: , , , , , ,

22 Responses to “Hyderabad”


  1. 3 Sreejith September 12, 2006 at 8:05 pm

    Sexy post Kunal. Thank you. Hyd ki yaad dila dii 😦 I literally wiped the droplets from the corners of my eyes. Btw i think that icecream shop in Mozamjahi was called “Famous Icecreams”. Also the biryani at lots of places near Charminar are just awesome, and they cost something like 25 bucks… imagine that! I dont think you can buy anything for 25 bucks at Prasads 😦 And how about being at Whisper Valley on Diwali night?

  2. 4 tgfi September 13, 2006 at 2:51 am

    Neat! I’m filing this away for future reference. thank-you!

  3. 5 Aditya September 13, 2006 at 4:00 am

    one of my frens rote a similar post on d 10 best places in hyd sometime ago…since it included all d famos places where u jus end up aving shelld out a hell lotta cash….it dsnt compare with dis post….. while aving an experience of d 1st 2 spots is easy…..but the other 3 mus av involvd a lot of experience….on reading such a lucrative description of the ice-cream shop…i am findin an ice-cream at the place irrestible…..gr8 post.

  4. 6 erimentha September 13, 2006 at 6:16 am

    You cheated on the last one – there are actually two in there!

    Add Best Book Centre in Lakdi-ka-pul (and their YMCA sales) to the second hand book shops – it was the first one, and compared to it, MR and Frankfurt are pretenders!

    As for food… hang on, this comment is turning into a full-fledged post! Good post, though – especially for someone who’s only been here six years!

  5. 7 Kunal September 13, 2006 at 1:42 pm

    vbsowmya, thanks..

    rakesh, dude even you have been in Hyderabad for as long as I have been.. and you suggest a smilie? 😦

    sreejith, thanks for reminding me of the name … and I had totally forgotten about Whisper Valley.. That Diwali night was great πŸ™‚

    tgfi, you are most welcome

    aditya, do give me the link of your friend’s post … would like to read it

    erimentha, I wrote about the two ice cream shops πŸ™‚ your list is great, shows you have been in Hyderabad for a much longer time …

  6. 8 Rakesh September 13, 2006 at 2:12 pm

    πŸ™‚ wish to write a post of my own.

  7. 9 erimentha September 13, 2006 at 3:11 pm

    I meant Karachi Bakery, of course! πŸ™‚

  8. 10 Swapna Krishnan September 13, 2006 at 10:29 pm

    Wow… must keep these in mind when I visit Hyderabad – especially the second hand book stores. I just love to browse through books. πŸ™‚

  9. 11 Kunal September 14, 2006 at 1:41 pm

    rakesh, great post man!

    erimentha, ok πŸ™‚ karachi bakery is so famous, I do not need to write about it. When people from my home town come to know that I am in Hyderabad, almost all of them ask me to bring biscuits from there…

    swapna, and you’ll surely find a horde of books πŸ™‚

  10. 12 sita September 14, 2006 at 7:10 pm

    i’m surprised you haven’t added Best bookstore, Abids. that’s probably the best in the city..

    also, since you’re talking about night places, try the omlette outside paradise 1 AM onwards..

  11. 13 kali sudheer September 14, 2006 at 8:35 pm

    being a hyderabdi myself i feel its gr8 to read this . good work lot of places which are not known to lot of outsiders in secunderabd..

    may be some one does something on this

  12. 14 Anat September 15, 2006 at 8:19 pm

    lemme add that lolling around in the gardens next to eat street is actually a bit more fun than eat street itself.

  13. 15 Kalpana January 22, 2007 at 7:14 am

    Hello guys,

    Check out our newest HUB HYDERABAD.COM

    http://www.hubhyderabad.com

  14. 16 Mahesh January 9, 2008 at 2:01 am

    Kunal did you taste the seethaphal ice cream at the Mouzam zahi icecream parlours? Its very unique to the old city. The last time I was there was in 1997. I was in hyderabad in 2004 but didn’t get a chance to taste this ice cream.Fruit biscuits in Karachi Bakery are awesome I am getting four box in my upcoming tri. I’ll be in hyde in couple of days and already planning on Haleem party at home. Try Shadab near Madina hotel they have some awesome food. πŸ™‚ Good one

  15. 17 Abu Shamil May 22, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    its very nice to hear that there is a Karachi Bakery in Hyderabad, India. there are so many places in Karachi in the name of Hyderabad and a Chahar Minar (replica) is also here πŸ™‚ thanks for this information about great city of Hyderabad.

  16. 18 manders15 April 21, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    I love Shilparamam in Hitech city. It is a nice place to buy wonderful souvenirs, and also has a great atmosphere! Souvenirs of any type can be found, and bargained to a decent price! There is a nice park, and a pond as well. This shopping area is a great place to go and relax while doing some gift shopping!
    Thanks for the post, helped me a lot during my fourth month stay!

  17. 19 thanzi June 14, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    this is an excellent hand page for those visiting hydrabad…jus like me


  1. 1 DesiPundit » Archives » Things-to-do in Hyderabad Trackback on September 13, 2006 at 1:11 am
  2. 2 Hyderabad « Canace Trackback on September 13, 2006 at 10:37 am
  3. 3 You haven’t seen Hyderabad If « Bavra Mann Trackback on September 13, 2006 at 5:53 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 404,613 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


