Trying to fool Akismet

And when I thought I had seen it all, I spy this comment on one of my posts.

Not even Akismet could mark this comment as spam. Actually no verification/moderation could mark this comment as spam. A news item, with all its fonts converted to caps (no idea why?) has been posted as a comment.

The only logical reason behind this is that this comment is meant to fool Akismet. Akismet has been working wonders for me. It has caught about 1400+ comments as spam and catching more and more daily. And it sure is a great learner. Initially it marked genuine comments as spam, I made those comments as not spam and since then I have not faced that problem. Some days back few comments made through Akismet, I marked them as spam and now no similar comments have gone through.

The commenter is hoping that I’ll mark this comment as spam and hence Akismet will start marking genuine comments as spam and I’ll get irritated enough to turn off Akismet (which I would never ever do in my sane mind). I remember Sreejith got a mail that had an excerpt from a book that the filters would not mark as spam. The explanation for such a mail was found here

So I reiterate the advice given on that post. Do not mark these comments as spam; instead simply delete them. I am not deleting that comment just to keep an example.

TechnoratiTechnorati: , ,

4 Responses to “Trying to fool Akismet”


  1. 1 Rakesh September 6, 2006 at 12:52 pm

    I hope Matt is listening !

  2. 2 Sreejith September 6, 2006 at 9:38 pm

    I guess most people and me like to comment on your blog because there is no stupid word verification or registration required. The word verification has become such a pain that I think twice before i even reply to comments on my own blog! Keep it clean and simple i say…let the neural networks handle the spam.

  3. 3 Kunal September 7, 2006 at 2:20 pm

    Rakesh, I hope so too..

    Sreejith, word verification is really PIA, but is necessary.. This is one of major advantages wordpress has over blogspot… Akismet rocks!

  4. 4 utkarsh September 7, 2006 at 2:44 pm

    “I am not deleting that comment just to keep an example”
    bah .. spam encourager !!


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 401,921 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


