Confession

I have some bad news.

Last month I was diagnosed with a unique disease. I am the first person who has been diagnosed with BROCD. Luckily it is not a lethal disease, but unluckily no known cure for it exists. For the past one month, I have been under observation and now some symptoms are known.

People affected with BROCD – Me, Myself and I – are known to talk incessantly and sometimes elaborately about themselves and the world around (Symptom #1). They are also inflicted with a unique condition of having their fingers tuned to something specific (Symtom#2). Like for the past 2-3 months, the distance between my little finger and index finger has been in the range of 5 KYS [This is another symptom, people affected with BROCD are known to develop their own terminology when they do not know how to say something specific (Symptom #3)].

BROCD is basically a mental disease and does not affect one physically except for the 5KYS thing. People affected with BROCD also have a tendency to use terms like ‘unique’, ‘first’, ‘in my opinion’, ‘very’ very regularly (Symptom #4). Another major problem is that they think they are Superman, Spiderman, Tendulkar, Zidane, Mozart, Shakespeare, Sherlock Holmes – rolled in one. If I may say so, we (read as ‘I’) think we (read as ‘I’) are (read as ‘am’) GOD (Symptom #5).

Another symptom that has come to light is breaking off whatever one is doing very suddenly – no proper end, no conclusion (Symptom #6).

Legend:
BROCD – Blog Related Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
KYS – KeYS (5 keys separate ‘Ctrl’ and ‘T’ on the keyboard, and yeah I use Firefox)

9 Responses to “Confession”


  1. 1 Himank Sharma September 5, 2006 at 1:08 pm

    Sexy post maan..U rok!!! Written vry well…. i just couldnt get any hint abt wat BROCD n 5KYS are!!!

  2. 2 Rakesh September 5, 2006 at 6:02 pm

    I see a man dancing in the street, I feel like blogging ..I see a movie, I feel like blogging.. I read Prez’s comment about Jeevan Vidya I feel like blogging.. when I am alone I feel like blogging … when I am in crowd I feel like blogging … when I am happy I feel like blogging .. When I am sad I Feel like blogging..

    Oh Hell !!

    I am subscribed to gigaOM, Slashdot, Digg, Reddit, OReilly Radar,Techmeme,Wired News and IIIT Blogroll and go through them several times a day .. but constantly forget to read the editorial that comes in the news paper which comes in my room …

    Guess this BROCD thing is growing like an epidemic… Anyway welcome back d00d .. your break wasnt that long I must say .

  3. 3 Aditya September 6, 2006 at 4:15 am

    very well-framed….din drop ne clue abt d disorder being relatd 2 blogging….well blogging is certainly growing up up as a newly found obsession 4 most of d iiitians at a tremendous pace….happy blogging!!!!!

  4. 4 Aditya September 6, 2006 at 4:16 am

    very well-framed….din drop ne clue abt d disorder being relatd 2 blogging….well blogging is certainly growing up up as a newly found obsession among most of d iiitians at a tremendous pace….happy blogging!!!!!

  5. 6 Sreejith September 6, 2006 at 7:19 pm

    Back with a bang!. See thats why i dont blog often… i believe in ‘prevention is better than cure’ 😀

  6. 7 Nitin September 7, 2006 at 12:06 pm

    Nice,

    Wish the disease stays with you forever and becomes more complicated 😉

    Smiles

  7. 8 Kunal September 7, 2006 at 2:16 pm

    Thanks Himank

    Rakesh, another kindered soul.. *sighs*

    Aditya, it is not a new found obsession.. Blogging has been an obsession at IIIT for the past 2-3 years now …

    bah, same to you 🙂 since I have no idea what you want to convey..

    Sreejith, dude when am I gonna see the next post? your threat worked, unluckily the same threat would not work on you 😉

    Nitin, I wish the same too 🙂


  1. 1 DesiPundit » Archives » BROCD Trackback on September 6, 2006 at 9:40 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 404,773 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


