Tip

Even at the most unlikely place, one can learn something.

I was at a restaurant on Saturday and had just been given the bill, which amounted to Rs.161. I paid with two hundred rupee notes and was waiting for the change. Until a year back – till the time I was a student and not earning – I never left tips. Since then, I leave whatever seems appropriate.

I saw the waiter get the change from the cashier. En-route to my table the waiter stopped for a few moments and soon he was at my table with the change on the platter. I picked up the three tens, rest of the change was beneath the bill; I picked up the bill and was confronted by a bevy of coins – around 15 coins. 50-aisa coins dominated the horde and I spied a one-rupee coin peeking from underneath three 50-paisa coins. For a sum of nine rupees I was presented with what could be at best described as a beggar’s haul. Not wishing to have a bulky wallet or a clinking pocket I left the change behind.

I was smiling as I left the restaurant; I had learnt something 🙂

TechnoratiTechnorati: ,

4 Responses to “Tip”


  1. 1 Sreejith August 14, 2006 at 6:12 pm

    Either you ate for 161 bucks which is highly unlikely knowing u, or there were 2 ppl(which is very likely) and the other was a girl(again knowing you). Hence u were on a date. See i am teaching u deductive reasoning. U can learn from the comments on ur blog too 😛

    PS: now dont go around picking flaws around the logic!

  2. 2 Piyush August 14, 2006 at 8:59 pm

    Lot of Sherlock holmes here ;)….btw nice post

  3. 3 rajAT August 15, 2006 at 3:03 pm

    I think waiter has known u before and more importantly your no tip habit :). Thts why he got 50 paise coins.
    I hve never seen restaurants keeping 50 paise coins with them. Simple reason no food item in their menu is priceed till the paisas . 🙂

    So he jst want to make it doubly sure tht you leave tip for him this time 😀

  4. 4 Kunal August 16, 2006 at 3:57 pm

    Sreejith, 😀 No flaws in your logic…

    Piyush, thanks.

    Rajat, and I did leave the tip 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Meet the Blogger…

I write! Topic does not matter, can be my life, or my travels, or any match I saw, or the Hyderabadi life, or reminiscing about Raipur, or penning Short Stories & 55s.

I can be contacted at kunalblogs[at]gmail[dot]com.

August 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

The 140 Chars

I write about …

Blog Stats

  • 409,090 hits

Ancient mumblings

Visitors


